top of page

What Should I Pray Today – Amidst the Virus

Reading a book today (Actually I am listening to him read his book- Audio Books!) – in the book the Pastor asks us to take a look back at our prayers over the last seven days. If God decided to grant every last one of them would the world be changed? Would you (we) be changed? If the answer is no maybe your (our) prayer life needs some change up, adjustment – tweaking if you will. Right now, today there is an ugly virus out in the world. I’m going to name it here because if I (or anyone else) reads this years from now it will remind us – Covid 19 or Corona Virus. Right now in our country and our metroplex area has every action and emotion from far left to far right attached to this thing. In China, where unfortunately it seems they did not have any advanced warning the statistics are staggering, almost 81,000+ cases and almost 3,200+, deaths related to this virus, Italy is already at 6,000 deaths as of today, precious lives lost. Here in the US, some are panicking and some are dismissive about what and how this will impact us and everything in between. As the scripture says below – God is with us in our weakness. It also says that for the good of those who love Him.


Hebrews 8:26-28 26 In the same way, the Spirit helps us in our weakness. We do not know what we ought to pray for, but the Spirit himself intercedes for us through wordless groans. 27 And he who searches our hearts knows the mind of the Spirit, because the Spirit intercedes for God’s people in accordance with the will of God. 28 And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who[a] have been called according to his purpose.


Jesus cured blindness four times in the Bible, four, but never the same way twice. Why do you think that is? Could it be that perhaps because He didn’t want you to focus on the way he cured it but rather focus on THAT HE CURED IT. It’s a miracle. Can you only imagine how the blind person felt? No sight, no colors, no sunsets, no seeing my beautiful daughters face. No seeing my granddaughter stretch out her little arms wanting me to pick her up and hold her. Blindness cured - Then all of the sudden you can see it all. What a gift. Yes, that is and would be a great gift.


Jesus sent them out two – by – two, do you suppose He paired them up purposely? Do you think He put Jack with Bob, oh maybe because Bob might be an encourager and Jack might be really passionate and forceful? Oh I certainly think He was purposeful in who He picked to go with who. Why wouldn’t he. I mean think about it. If you know Jesus then He has had an impact on your life and you’ve never met him in person, He likely has an impact on your life every day. His ministry was (in person) only three years long. That’s not a long time – so how has it sustained? So how can He have made and still make such an impact on you, on me, on us all? He was intentional. He meant what He said and said what He meant, every time. He made every word count, every gesture, even in His most stressful times He was intentional.


Ok - so Andrea what does this have to do with today’s topic? Well, I’m glad you asked. Here is a question for you that will shed light on why – Shouldn’t our prayers, all of them, be intentional. Shouldn’t every conversation we have in prayer be intentional?


You know, I’ve been guilty of glancing over – skimming over a work email and not taking the time to read it fully. Many times this has come back to bite me when I reply and my reply makes no sense based on the original email. I also get frustrated when folks don’t read my emails. So over time I’ve developed a – stop and read mentality. Focus on the words and meanings and see what it is asking or needing me to do. That laser focus – intentional - I think our prayers should be the same – stop and really pray, be intentional. Pray with a purpose.


In this time of chaos. Let’s make our prayers count and when this thing is done and finished what a testimony to how God showed up and worked it out. I pray we will see story after story of people being very loving and kind to neighbors and friends. (I already had a friend offer to get groceries for me because I had a hard time finding a few things) I want all of us to walk out past this thing with a greater love for Jesus, for our family, for our friends, our neighbors, our city, you get the picture. Doing this would amp up our prayer lives too. Oh I am still a fan of knee-jerk prayers because when you say “I will pray for you” you should do it right away. There is no wrong place or time to pray. What I am talking about here is some longer, in depth, on purpose power prayers.


Let’s pray something more intentional…Be Bold with me… Let’s pray


Dear Heavenly Father, in this time when things seems so far left or right, Father use us, put us where you want us to be. Let us have those divine appointments. Whatever, whenever and however God – the answer is YES. Bring out the best in Your people and have them do Your will, showing Kindness, goodness and strong faith, let our lights shine very bright for you. Let us find ways to be outward – advancing Your Kingdom, especially now. God I just pray that while we are being Your hands and feet and showing Your love – keep us safe and healthy. Praying all in Jesus most precious Name - Amen

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page