top of page

The Boogey Man

Years ago when my daughter, her brothers, her Dad and I all lived together I experienced a situation with one of the boys. They were 8 & 9 years old at the time. The younger one was getting ready for bed and I could see he was in some distress, he was stalling big time. I asked what was wrong and he explained that he was afraid to lay down because the boogey man would come in the room and get him. Now let’s stop for a second, most reading this are adults and know that the mythical boogey man does not exist. To an 8 year old he is a real as it gets and my choice at the time stemmed from my heart. I was not at the time in my faith walk, oh I believed in God but I was not a practicing Christian. My choice had more to do

with loving my son and ensuring that he felt safe and in no danger at all, not only this night but all nights. I had to come up with something completely believable for him to understand. I told him that the boogey man can’t open doors or windows so he can’t get in, his answer was swift and boy did he give the boogey man some serious power, he said he could penetrate walls, doors and windows. Now I have to come up with something really serious and threatening towards that old boogeyman or else he will be master of my house. We had a paddle, it wasn’t something we used but more so a “straighten up” tool, to the boys it was ominous. I told him that I had eyes and ears all over my head it was a Mom thing and I could see and hear that ole boogey man and if he came even in our yard that I would get after him with that paddle and that I would give him something to make him never come back. Thankfully this worked. He felt safe and secure.


What is your boogeyman? Do you have one today? You have something so much better than that ole paddle, better than me swinging that ole paddle to make it go away. You have Jesus! Are you using Him to combat the boogeyman? His love is our protection, His love is our refuge. You can feel safe in His love.


Psalm 55: 1-3 & 16-18 Listen to my prayer, O God, do not ignore my plea; 2 hear me and answer me. My thoughts trouble me and I am distraught 3 because of what my enemy is saying, because of the threats of the wicked; for they bring down suffering on me and assail me in their anger. 16-18 As for me, I call to God, and the Lord saves me. 17 Evening, morning and noon I cry out in distress, and he hears my voice. 18 He rescues me unharmed from the battle waged against me, even though many oppose me.


With all the chaos going on right now times are unsure. Now more than ever we need to press in to faith. Call to God – the Lord who saves me- We need to pray fueled prayers. I believe Jesus wants us to love on our neighbors in the best way we can – be kind and check on them if you can, wave hi when you see them and smile, more if needed. We also need to remember our authority here on Earth, listen to what our local, state and federal authorities are telling us – and do it. Keep your distance and wash your hands. Pray for them to make the right and best choices for us today and going forward. Pray for those in health care, pray for those who have or will lose jobs over this or get hours cut. Also something a few speak about but I think it’s going to get bad if we don’t make some changes and that is mental health. Segregation is something many folks can’t do. All the news will worry some to pieces. Pray for them too.


Dear Heavenly Father, First thank You for the gift of Your love. I come to You and ask blessings on every person reading this today. Please bless them with safety in health and finances – job and home. Keep them from being affected. Please bless the family they represent – bless those family members as well for health and safety. I pray for those on the front line, first responders, please protect them – wrap a hedge of safety on them – bring them the proper equipment to be able to do the job they need to do and help as many as possible so the spread can stop cold. Please provide them mental safety as well, so they can get proper rest, love from family and friends. Father I ask prayers for our leaders who are making the decisions regarding how this thing plays out – please give them Your wisdom, let them lead with You first and forefront. Protect them, their families. Father I just ask far and wide that you place Your protective hand on us to keep us safe and healthy. Help us battle out this thing Your way. When this is over I just pray that the dust settles and all we see is YOU. Father I ask prayers for safety, health and finances for my family, my friends and my extended family out there. Keep us safe and healthy. Let us find creative ways to safely but mightily reach out to others and show them through us just how MIGHTY YOU are! I am so thankful for faith and You in my own life. We pray all things in Jesus name – AMEN

SIDE NOTE: I saw something recently about a red ribbon on the door handle of your house, signifying much like the Egyptian days of old with the lamb’s blood on the door frame – let this thing pass. What a great idea. I think I will find some red ribbon for my home door handle. Join in and let’s get red ribbon flowing in our cities, states and country! Solidarity! Belief that Jesus will bring us through this! Let it pass!

10 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page