top of page

Doubt: Embrace and Wrestle – Wrestle and Embrace

Ever doubted your faith?


Been through a tough time and just felt like you were barely hanging on to that faith?


Trials happen, the Bible even tells us in many places that we will have trails in life. Some trials are larger than others, some will send you screaming and crying to your knees. Pain happens, it’s life. Many years ago I read a terrific poem – Footprints in the Sand that reassured me that no matter what God is with me, God is with you.


I am led to write this devotional today based on something happening in my own family. One of my sisters lives far enough away I could not ask her to come to church, I would if she lived closer. I’ve known for a long time now that I would not be the person who would bring her to Christ. Oh I’ve had conversations with her but it just was not going to be me. I knew my position would be once she did (find that faith) to lend support. Well I’ve been praying for that time when she would find her faith for a very long time and recently it happened. This sister is recently married too and her new husband is battling cancer right now. He also happens to be the one who brought her to faith. He gets radiation treatments in his mouth – throat area and chemo treatments as well. This is his last Chemo treatment on Friday coming and then he also has seven more radiation treatments. Now you can say well he is on the final approach and you are right but I want you to understand, his throat is raw from the treatments, he has open sores and can barely eat sometimes, he has lost substantial weight and feels nausea all the time. This is a strong man of faith, but given what he is facing can you believe he doubts? I certainly think he could. There may even be times when he says to God – help me overcome my unbelief that I will be better.


Mark 9:20-25 20 So they brought the boy. But when the evil spirit saw Jesus, it threw the child into a violent convulsion, and he fell to the ground, writhing and foaming at the mouth. 21“How long has this been happening?” Jesus asked the boy’s father. He replied, “Since he was a little boy. 22 The spirit often throws him into the fire or into water, trying to kill him. Have mercy on us and help us, if you can.” 23 “What do you mean, ‘If I can’?” Jesus asked. “Anything is possible if a person believes.” 24 The father instantly cried out, “I do believe, but help me overcome my unbelief!25 When Jesus saw that the crowd of onlookers was growing, he rebuked the evil spirit. “Listen, you spirit that makes this boy unable to hear and speak,” he said. “I command you to come out of this child and never enter him again!”


I’ve said from the beginning of this cancer treatment that all he will go through is to strengthen his testimony. He will have such a longer and stronger story to tell. See my brother in law ministers to men in prisons. He told me that he never again wanted another person to reach the same age he got before hearing the good news of Jesus. Now I say that is a strong ministry and something that I know that I know that I KNOW God wants to extend, there will not be stopping, Oh the enemy can try to stop him with this cancer crud but I know God will prevail and so will my brother-in-law. He will come forth out of this and be stronger than ever. Just stay tuned.


So doubt – even one of Jesus own doubted, He had let Thomas touch His scars to let him know that who he was touching was really Jesus. He did not make fun of this doubt, He did not cast him away for doubting, He loved him through the doubts.


If your trial is not cancer, and you still doubt that’s ok. God knows your heart, He knows your belief. Put it out there to God, tell Him your doubts and thoughts. Let Him comfort you.


Heavenly Father – Bless those reading this, bless us all with strength in times of doubt. Help us understand that You will always be there for us in times of need. We thank You - Amen


Footprints In The Sand

One night I dreamed a dream. I was walking along the beach with my Lord. Across the dark

sky flashed scenes from my life. For each scene, I noticed two sets of footprints in the sand, one belonging to me and one to my Lord.

When the last scene of my life shot before me I looked back at the footprints in the sand. There was only one set of footprints. I realized that this was at the lowest and saddest times of my life. This always bothered me and I questioned the Lord about my dilemma.

"Lord, You told me when I decided to follow You, You would walk and talk with me all the way. But I'm aware that during the most troublesome times of my life there is only one set of footprints. I just don't understand why, when I need You most, You leave me."

He whispered, "My precious child, I love you and will never leave you, never, ever, during your trials and testing. When you saw only one set of footprints, it was then that I carried you."

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page