top of page

Words

Psalm 19:14 NIV - 14 May these words of my mouth and this meditation of my heart be pleasing in your sight, Lord, my Rock and my Redeemer.


Work is such a source of stress sometimes. I am not sure how I did not bust a gasket as a younger person because then I was a single mom and worked a full time job. Life has a way of keeping us on our toes. I suppose if life was always sunshine and roses it would be more like Heaven.


I’ll be honest, as much as I want to experience the happiness and constant joy of Heaven I am not in a rush to get there. I do want to enjoy my experience on Earth. I just really wish sometimes it would be easier. So today I am thinking – well what does that look like – how do you spell that? Is that even possible?


The words of the scripture above make me stop and think. I need to be filling the Guf – for those who aren’t sure what exactly that is - Guf, also transliterated Guph or even Gup) is a Hebrew word, meaning "body". In Jewish mysticism the Chamber of Guf, also called the Otzar (הָאוֹצָר, Hebrew for "treasury"), is the Treasury of Souls, located in the Seventh Heaven. Filling it with good things so that when something spills out its good and not bad. Like what I might say if super stressed. If what I have in my mind and soul is God’s word then I’ll be faster to respond with those.


I try very hard to fill myself up – somedays I know you agree – it is easier than others. Photo here is my books I have at work to help. Most have been gifted to me which makes them mean so much more! I read and stop some days to read when things get out of hand. I also have cards that I’ve made with scripture that is helpful too. Either way the whole purpose is to fill up my heart with Your word so I won’t depart from it (Psalm 119:11) I’ll share some of my card scriptures: (let’s have some fun and I’ll provide different versions)


Proverbs 13:20 –NIV: Walk with the wise and become wise, for a companion of fools suffers harm.

Proverbs 25:11 – KJV: 1 A word fitly spoken is like apples of gold in pictures of silver.

Proverbs 15:1 – ESV: A soft answer turns away wrath, but a harsh word stirs up anger

Philippians 4:6 – AMP: 6 Do not be anxious or worried about anything, but in everything [every circumstance and situation] by prayer and petition with thanksgiving, continue to make your [specific] requests known to God.


Ephesians 4:29 – NLT: 29 Don’t use foul or abusive language. Let everything you say be good and helpful, so that your words will be an encouragement to those who hear them.

1 Thessalonians 5:11 – MSG: 9-11 God didn’t set us up for an angry rejection but for salvation by our Master, Jesus Christ. He died for us, a death that triggered life. Whether we’re awake with the living or asleep with the dead, we’re alive with him! So speak encouraging words to one another. Build up hope so you’ll all be together in this, no one left out, no one left behind. I know you’re already doing this; just keep on doing it.

Acts 2:38-41 – NIV: 38 Peter replied, “Repent and be baptized, every one of you, in the name of Jesus Christ for the forgiveness of your sins. And you will receive the gift of the Holy Spirit. 39 The promise is for you and your children and for all who are far off—for all whom the Lord our God will call. 40 With many other words he warned them; and he pleaded with them, “Save yourselves from this corrupt generation.” 41 Those who accepted his message were baptized, and about three thousand were added to their number that day.


Proverbs 11:25 – AMP: The generous man [is a source of blessing and] shall be prosperous and enriched, and he who waters will himself be watered [reaping the generosity he has sown].

Psalm 139:23-24 - NLT: 23 Search me, O God, and know my heart; test me and know my anxious thoughts. 24 Point out anything in me that offends you, and lead me along the path of everlasting life.

Romans 12:9-10 – ESV: 9 Let love be genuine. Abhor what is evil; hold fast to what is good. 10 Love one another with brotherly affection. Outdo one another in showing honor.

Matthew 7:8 – MSG: 7-11 “Don’t bargain with God. Be direct. Ask for what you need. This isn’t a cat-and-mouse, hide-and-seek game we’re in. If your child asks for bread, do you trick him with sawdust? If he asks for fish, do you scare him with a live snake on his plate? As bad as you are, you wouldn’t think of such a thing. You’re at least decent to your own children. So don’t you think the God who conceived you in love will be even better?

Luke 6:35 – KJV: 35 But love ye your enemies, and do good, and lend, hoping for nothing again; and your reward shall be great, and ye shall be the children of the Highest: for he is kind unto the unthankful and to the evil.

These index cards are handy so if a day (like today) is especially tough – I can grab the cards and put them in my view, prop them up if you will so I have to look at them often. Trust me it helps. Like pasting something to your mirror every day. I have one of those too, I got it at a Ladies group I attended. It says - Deuteronomy 7:6 (NIV) 6 For you are a people holy to the Lord your God. The Lord your God has chosen you out of all the peoples on the face of the earth to be his people, his treasured possession

I am just as human as anyone out there, I have good days and I have bad days. I have to admit I like the good ones so much better but I have an appreciation for the bad ones because they remind me when it’s good its good. I appreciate the good days even more! Thank God for Good Days!

Let’s Pray

Father in Heaven, With a grateful heart I ask You to remind us that on bad days there is no more needed than Your word, Your heart, Your love that we need. We need to mediate on those, help us do just that to be sure we know. I pray that as the sheep we KNOW the Sheppard’s voice. I thank You for Your word, your Love and Grace, especially on those bad days. Amen

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page