top of page

Of Noble Character

Proverbs 31: 25-31 She is clothed with strength and dignity; she can laugh at the days to come. 26 She speaks with wisdom, and faithful instruction is on her tongue. 27 She watches over the affairs of her household and does not eat the bread of idleness. 28 Her children arise and call her blessed; her husband also, and he praises her: 29 “Many women do noble things, but you surpass them all.” 30 Charm is deceptive, and beauty is fleeting; but a woman who fears the Lord is to be praised. 31 Honor her for all that her hands have done, and let her works bring her praise at the city gate.



As I sat there, my mind was racing with ten-thousand things I wanted to say, yet I didn’t “need” to say anything. She knew without any doubts in my mind just exactly how I felt about her. I did not doubt, I would not doubt. I knew, she knew. Yet there I sat, wondering what to say, what to do. Her eyes were closed and I could see her chest moving with each breath. She smelled like honeysuckle which made me just want to take long deep breaths so I could remember that smell for years to come. It was her favorite and oh boy did it smell amazing on her. Her expression was that of peace and that gave me much peace. There was no pain, no agony, just peace.


I decided to read to her, to pass the time. Visitors were coming and so I picked up the Bible and began in Psalms, there were songs and beauty but none of it was feeling like what I wanted to read to her. I remembered a friend always said, if you are stuck on where to go in the Bible always refer to Psalm or Proverbs. To Proverbs I go and it just so happens Proverbs 31 was my start point. This was something I had not read before, as I read this to her I kept stopping and noting how although it was not the modern version (plowing the field) she is the Wife of Nobel Character. When I reached the part where it said “Her children arise and call her blessed; her husband also” I just had to say how much that is her.


She makes linen garments and sells them, and supplies the merchants with sashes. Took me back to my childhood when she and Nanny sewed the majority of our clothes, wonderfully cute little dresses, I remember one in particular a white dress with decorative buttons and a navy blue ribbon on the front, it was so charming. How blessed am I to wear hand-made clothing, made with love by my Grandmother and my mother.


My final words to my Mom were about how much I knew it was true, Charm is deceptive, and beauty is fleeting; but a woman who fears the Lord is to be praised. Besides I love you, I just cannot think of anything better to say to someone. I am forever thankful to God because I know He brought me to that place in the Bible, something special just for Momma and me that day. Something I will be always grateful for.



Dear Heavenly Father, First, I am so thankful for You helping Momma have seven wonderful months with us when the doctors said it would be less. I knew that You and Momma would determine the time. I am thankful for these words from Proverbs that you took me to being the last thing I read to her or spoke to her that day. I am most grateful that I know she is there with You without pain or cancer enjoying those who went before her and waiting for those who come after. I am grateful for the knowledge I will see her again. Thank You so much for giving her to me as my Earth Mom, You picked GOOD!!! Father I just ask that You help all those out there have the same kind of wonderful relationship with their Mom while here that I did with mine. Remind them Father that they need to tell Mom how they feel and hug per plenty while there is time. Last, thank You for the book of Proverbs, for Solomon and others who were faithful and put it down on paper for generations to read. In Jesus Name - Amen

The Photos in this devotional are of a new hat my Pop purchased for me! I just LOVE it and it made me think of reading Proverbs 31 to Momma so it seemed appropriate to write a devotional about it.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Words

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page