top of page

The Rear View Mirror

Over the years I’ve heard all sorts of things said about “past” things about “looking in the rear view mirror”. My mind and heart have pretty much been about compartmentalizing. There have been things in my life that have happened and I will never forget them, don’t want to and don’t need to. There have also been things that I need to forget or file away, something. This is the topic I’ve been coming back to recently, rather it keeps coming to me again and again. So today’s devotional is all about the rear view mirror.



Philippians 3:12-15 - New Living Translation (NLT) Pressing toward the Goal 12 I don’t mean to say that I have already achieved these things or that I have already reached perfection. But I press on to possess that perfection for which Christ Jesus first possessed me. 13 No, dear brothers and sisters, I have not achieved it] but I focus on this one thing: Forgetting the past and looking forward to what lies ahead, 14 I press on to reach the end of the race and receive the heavenly prize for which God, through Christ Jesus, is calling us. 15 Let all who are spiritually mature agree on these things. If you disagree on some point, I believe God will make it plain to you.

How we deal with the past determines the future. There are folks that just live in the past, can’t get through it and won’t let go of it and I’ve noticed that generally what they are holding on to is not the positive things but the negative, I have to say I’ve done that too, I’d be lying if I said I didn’t. Now I’m not saying to say totally forget the past, however, you can’t change it. Ponder this statement for a few minutes and I mean read it and think on it. Here goes… Have you ever noticed that negativity is more potent than positivity, have you ever seen a handful of people gossiping and noted how easy it is to jump in there versus the hard walk away. Why?


Ephesians 5:15-16 - New Living Translation (NLT) Living by the Spirit’s Power 15 So be careful how you live. Don’t live like fools, but like those who are wise. 16 Make the most of every opportunity in these evil days.

Pastor once said … ever notice how large the front windshield in your car is versus how little by comparison the rear view mirror is? I understood what he meant when he said it. Its meaning has become wider and more apparent lately though for me. When I compartmentalize past things, especially the negative things in my life I try to only take away the lesson learned from it. Hopefully I can pass on some of that wisdom to someone now who needs it. I try hard not to dwell on past things, as hard as I try it still happens and what I’ve come to conclude is this.


I can and will glance back in that rear view mirror and when I do I’m going to be looking for positive things only. The negative things in that rear view mirror are things I intend hit the [delete] button on and while I am doing this I need to keep reminding myself that if there are lessons from those past things that someone else needs to know then God will put me in the right place at the right time and give me the right words to say to them without me having to think about it or dredge up anything negative. I just need to stand firm in my faith of God’s plans.


Now since I’ve put this out there I’m going to be really specific, please give it some consideration. When we have an ex, ex spouse or boyfriend / girlfriend and the relationship went south for whatever reason we tend to hold on to that, hey I am holding my hand up high in the air. Yes, I admit that I have done that (not meaning to) and now that I have my rear view mirror focus where it needs to be I am going to let that alone. Done. Finished. [Slap hands] dusting off this one and on to the next thing. All the time I spend focused on the past is time I will not be living in the present or planning for the future.


I have a calling, a job, and a purpose on this earth and in order to be able to focus on it I have to clear the way. You also have a calling, a purpose and a great commission just as the disciples were given… Jesus said


“I have been given all authority in heaven and on earth. 19 Therefore, go and make disciples of all the nations] baptizing them in the name of the Father and the Son and the Holy Spirit. 20 Teach these new disciples to obey all the commands I have given you. And be sure of this: I am with you always, even to the end of the age.”


Let’s Pray

Dear Heavenly Father, Thank You gracious Father for allowing us to see the things that get in our way. Thank You for bringing them to light and showing us how to deal with them and move forward. I ask prayers Father for each person reading this right now that You give them a large front windshield full of hope, happiness and delight as they and we all make our way forward forgetting what is in the past and pressing forward towards the future we know will be full of Your best for us. I thank You in advance for all You provide to our lives. I pray all these things In Jesus Name – Amen.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Words

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page