top of page

Read Any Good Books Lately?

What book are you reading? Why are you reading that one? Is it keeping you on the edge of your seat? Is it compelling? Does it inspire you? Oh how I love to read, I don’t read as much as I would like to I’d love to read a ton like I used to. A great book is so good to me, I can read and jump right in to the story as if I am there, my imagination takes me to where the words say and I am part of the story. It’s fantastic to be part of it.


Hebrews 4:12a tells us so: “For the word of God is alive and active. Sharper than any double-edged sword …” (NIV).


So by now you’ve guessed I’m talking about reading the Bible, we need to be reading this book… Sure, the Bible has never been so accessible, but unfortunately, so are a million other things, and those other things fight hard for our attention … and usually win. This is just so sad.



Statistics indicate that individual Bible reading has taken a strong hit in the 2020 pandemic. We may be spending more time at home, but we are spending less time in the Word. So what are we going to do about this? Let’s turn that number upside down and on its head.


I recently found myself challenged to read the Bible every day-for a year, I have a partner who will be doing this with me so we can enjoy it together and also keep each other accountable to actually do this. The Bible I have purchased has this description: The Bible is ideal for anyone who wants to take a fresh look at the Bible by reading it in the order the events actually happened, so it is in Chronological order. You can read the entire Bible in as little as 15 minutes a day. It will take me a year, if I read just 15 minutes a day, small investment and I pray to have greater knowledge and be in the Word better than ever. I got a journal and highlighters so I’m just going to go all out with this and read away. I know I will get more great scripture for these devotionals too.



“I have hidden your word in my heart, that I might not sin against you” (Psalm 119:11, NLT).

Matthew 4:4, “Jesus answered, ‘It is written: “Man shall not live on bread alone, but on every word that comes from the mouth of God.”’ (NIV)



I challenge each of you reading this to read your Bible, if you need to start small then read once a week and work up to every day but I think we all have 15 minutes we can spare for God. I promise He is worth the time and effort.



Dear Heavenly Father, Thank You for the gift of the Bible, thank You for leaving Your word with us so that we can read it and understand, so that we can know Your will. Please be with us as we go forward in this challenge to read every day. Help us keep up on that and get what You want out of the reading. Thank you- Amen

3 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page