top of page

Forgiveness – Undeserved ~ Favor – Undeniable


I’ve said a multitude of times that I am pretty much all heart surrounded by a bit of skin and that’s all that keeps me from oozing out all over the place. In my older age I am super sentimental, I can cry on demand or even without prompting. When it comes to things of faith, I am very tender hearted. Now work is not normally a place where faith conversations happen so when they do I like to note them and remember them. Yesterday was one of those. My coworker (Steve) and I were talking about faith things, his faith story and mine. I told him when we last spoke about faith things he had told me MORE and BETTER so I blogged about that because I was inspired by what he said, so when we talked yesterday he gave me another one – Forgiveness – Undeserved ~ Favor – Undeniable.


Before I get to those I want to describe to you as best I can how he delivered these to me because I feel like that is a large part of why I wanted to do this devotional. I’ve had millions of conversations in my lifetime and I’m sure you can identify – some stand out more than others for particular reasons. Yesterday I talked to this man I’ve known for several years, I’ve also known he is a faith filled person, not only from talking to him but my boss for example – told me that this man was his Youth advisor when he was younger. So (back to yesterday) we are talking and he is telling me how he feels about things, I am telling him about my blog and about wanting to write a book and publish it. He says he wants me to put it OUT THERE and have no fear. I could see him visibly, could feel him physically getting emotional as we talked about worship, music along with some great messages we’ve heard from various Pastors lately. He was describing - WOW what Jesus did for him, for them, for me, for us, his intensity was palpable at best, I mean I could feel it. He was actually tearing up as we talked about Jesus and unmerited favor – Grace. It melts my heart to see someone who loves Jesus so much just wear it like a favored article of clothing, you know, like your cherished tshirt, soft and comfy from years of wear, or like a dog eared book you’ve read tons of times (your Bible maybe). Old Faithful…



So let’s think about what he said.


Forgiveness – Undeserved

The dictionary defines undeserved – adjective - not warranted, merited, or earned. Unjustified, Inordinate, bottomless, unconscionable

These are such vast describing words. I love how much passion (intensity) they invoke. I mean you really understand the depth of what he is saying about undeserved.


Matthew 26:28 This is my blood of the covenant, which is poured out for many for the forgiveness of sins.

Luke 1:77 to give his people the knowledge of salvation through the forgiveness of their sins


We didn’t ask for this, we don’t deserve it, however, we certainly have it. God gave His Son freely and with all the love He had for you, me, all of us. What a perfect blessing.


Favor – Undeniable

Let’s see the definition of Favor - approval, support, or liking for someone or something. overgenerous preferential treatment, a small gift or souvenir. give unfairly preferential treatment to, Approval, approbation, commendation, esteem, goodwill, kindness, partiality, advocate, benefit

Undeniable - unable to be denied or disputed.

Indisputable, indubitable, unquestionable, beyond doubt



I really love overgenerous, how can someone be overgenerous – I think of giving it all. That is a good way to look at it. Years ago we had a special visitor and I’ll name him which I normally would not do but I feel like it won’t make as much sense unless I do. Chris Kyle – American Sniper was speaking to my church and being interviewed by Pastor. One thing he said that has echoed in my mind many times over is that when you go in the military you write a check to the United States “Up to and including your life”. That’s giving it all. Like Jesus did on the cross, He gave his whole life so that we could automatically be adopted in to the Heavenly Household. When He did this we automatically became Heirs to the kingdom of Heaven.



Indisputable is another one that just really puts some weight on the term undeniable, which alone is a great word but you see the really long depth. You can’t argue with it. it’s cast in stone. Or as Jesus said “it is finished”. No more needs to be said – Done and Done.


Isaiah 61 The Year of the Lord’s Favor The Spirit of the Sovereign Lord is on me, because the Lord has anointed me to proclaim good news to the poor. He has sent me to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim freedom for the captives and release from darkness for the prisoners, to proclaim the year of the Lord’s favor and the day of vengeance of our God, to comfort all who mourn, and provide for those who grieve in Zion— to bestow on them a crown of beauty instead of ashes, the oil of joy instead of mourning, and a garment of praise instead of a spirit of despair. They will be called oaks of righteousness, a planting of the Lord for the display of his splendor.


Genesis 47:25 “You have saved our lives,” they said. “May we find favor in the eyes of our lord


Dear Heavenly Father – without Your gift of Jesus these words would hold only small meanings. Nothing substantial. Because You did send Jesus and because of His supreme sacrifice we have these larger than life words, better yet He put them in to action and made them have depth, beauty and honor. I could thank You every second of every day and I know that still would not cover the debt we owe, I owe. I do humbly say Thank You, so very much. In Jesus Name - Amen

19 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page