top of page

Blue, Purple and Scarlet

Blue, Purple and Scarlet are the colors God called out when giving instruction of how to build. He gave specific instructions even down to the thread colors. Talk about intentional.



Exodus 35:5-9 From what you have, take an offering for the Lord. Everyone who is willing is to bring to the Lord an offering of gold, silver and bronze; 6 blue, purple and scarlet yarn and fine linen; goat hair; 7 ram skins dyed red and another type of durable leather[a]; acacia wood; 8 olive oil for the light; spices for the anointing oil and for the fragrant incense; 9 and onyx stones and other gems to be mounted on the ephod and breast-piece.


Why would He call out these three colors? Well first of all, from way back in art class from school I know that Blue and Scarlet (Red) make purple and that’s a Holy color but past that here is why God picked those colors…The Son of God (blue) became the Son of Man (scarlet), making Him King of Kings and Lord of Lords (purple) over all of heaven and earth.


Every little detail covered and has a specific reason. Lately, I’ve been thinking about suicide and why someone would feel compelled to do this. Not that I can or ever will understand why. I wonder more times than not about where did the hope go? Did that person know God? Had they been exposed? And there is the God part, I know He loved this person and I believe God was hammering on his heart to open and let Him in. Where was the disconnect? God pays attention to every little detail. I remember reading in the Purpose Driven Live that God knew the number of hairs on (my) your head. That He kept (my) your tears in a bottle. Makes me wonder how someone can just not have hope. God is hope. He is our best hope.



Psalm 56:8 You keep track of all my sorrows.[ You have collected all my tears in your bottle. You have recorded each one in your book.


I love the Message version of this too


Psalm 56:8 The Message 8 You’ve kept track of my every toss and turn through the sleepless nights, Each tear entered in your ledger, each ache written in your book.


Remember the last time your mind would not shut off and you tossed and turned for a good while. God was right there, counting the turns. Oh to know He is always there. Oh that He is so intentional in all He does. Right down to the color of the yarn.


I led a Bible Study years ago where we discussed the Arc and the length of it, I had a ball of yarn that was the length of it and we passed it around the room several times, and I mean several times over to show the actual length. It was eye opening.


What is the message? Don’t you dare sit over there thinking nobody cares and that you are all alone, that is not true. Not even close.





12 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page