top of page

With Thanksgiving


This time of year we focus on thankfulness and what we are thankful for. This is a terrific exercise and a great thing to do but why just this month? Why not every month, every week. Isn’t there something we can be thankful for every day? I know for me, I am thankful for so many things.


When my Mom was told she had stage 4 cancer and there was not anything they could do but make her comfortable it hit me like a freight train had run over me, backed up and ran over me again – like that movie Ground Hog day when the same day runs and reruns over and over again. It took some time to digest this and determine how I was going to deal with it long term. I kept asking God to give me strength and to walk it out His way. After long prayers and time I came down to this… No matter what time I had left with her I would thank God for every moment of it. Long or short every single second was precious and I was grateful for it and always would be. it was not easy reaching this point, I wanted to be mad – why her? Why Mom? Why?


Philippians 4:6 Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God.


Looking back I am more than thankful for the time we had. Seven months was not a long time but it also was not the two months the doctors predicted. Seven months of new and wonderful memories, fun times, laughs, hugs, being a family. Thanksgiving is the favorite holiday for my Mom and Pop, they do it up big right down to the homemade pies. There is nothing store bought it’s all home cooked and made. This tradition is something my daughter cherishes. She has extended it to her own family. It’s about time together and everyone pitching in, having something to prepare and bring to the feast. Seeing the finished product when we were done is and always has been a great source of joy. Then the fun part – dig in.


I keep going back to thoughts of my Mom, she worked when I was little because I remember going to the “shop” with her. She was part owner of a beauty salon and I spent many an hour there, I still remember the smell of aqua net and the perms. Whew strong stuff. After my brother was born she did not go back to work for a good while. When She did work it was not full time and not long term, she had some jobs off and on over the years but for the most part she was a stay at home Mom. I’m so glad too because it was steady, something I could count on. Mom was there. These days it just is unheard of for a Mom to stay home, with everything costing so much it’s pretty impossible for families to get along with just a single income but oh how I loved Mom being home. She was there when I left for School and there when I got home from my part time job. She would always wait up for me and sometimes she would hide and I’d have to find her when I got there. This thought makes me smile, it was something funny between Mom and I, something precious and something to be thankful for. Yes I am thankful for this time with Mom.


I can think of so many things I am thankful for this season. Most of all my family. I am blessed to have a large family. I am grateful for my friends.


Going back to the scripture, in every situation – keep praying to God and giving Him thanks. Tell Him what you want, what you need and thank Him in advance for what you know He will do in your life. How He will answer your prayers. That alone is worth being thankful for. That God wants to fill our hopes and dreams.



Wishing you and your family a very Happy Thanksgiving and praying you know just how precious you are and how thankful I am to you and for you.


Dear Heavenly Father, I pray for each person reading this and the family they represent. I pray they have a wonderful Thanksgiving with family and loved ones. That they have safe travels, good food, good memories and they remember You as they give thanks. Thank You so much for all the blessings. In Jesus Name – Amen.

8 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page