top of page

Why You Need to Tell Your Story

When you think about “your story” “My Story”, telling it. What does that look like? Your story is supposed to be what your life was like before Jesus came into your heart, then next is what your life was like after finding your faith. Your story (My story) does not have a cookie cutter requirement, how it should be or how it should sound. It does not even have to be exciting. Your story (my story) is what it is, it’s clean or messy. Very Importantly, your story has the ability to, just as it is, to speak volumes to someone out there. Your story may be just like theirs. Even if you don’t think your story is “good enough”, read on.



Have you maybe thought, my story, if I told it would make people think I’m awful, that I’ve been a bad person? I certainly made lots of poor choices in my lifetime. Honestly, I thought I was ten-feet-tall and bulletproof as a young person. I thought that what I wanted – how I wanted and when I wanted was the way to go, my own truth, my own way. I wasn’t even thinking in many times about what’s really right and what’s really wrong. Honestly, I knew and always knew right from wrong, as best I understood it. The thing is, I didn’t really grasp it all the way and what it honestly means. Once I found faith, my idea or belief of right and wrong drastically changed. Looking backwards it felt like my eyes had been covered before, not actually being able to see the truth. Now I want to pause here and say, I was not a horrible person. I’m not saying you are or were either. There is just a difference between what and how you believe before faith and after faith.


God knows, nobody is beyond faith, anyone can find faith and understand.


Mark 5:1-20 Jesus Restores a Demon-Possessed Man 5 They went across the lake to the region of the Gerasenes. 2 When Jesus got out of the boat, a man with an impure spirit came from the tombs to meet him. 3 This man lived in the tombs, and no one could bind him anymore, not even with a chain. 4 For he had often been chained hand and foot, but he tore the chains apart and broke the irons on his feet. No one was strong enough to subdue him. 5 Night and day among the tombs and in the hills he would cry out and cut himself with stones. 6 When he saw Jesus from a distance, he ran and fell on his knees in front of him. 7 He shouted at the top of his voice, “What do you want with me, Jesus, Son of the Most High God? In God’s name don’t torture me!” 8 For Jesus had said to him, “Come out of this man, you impure spirit!” 9 Then Jesus asked him, “What is your name?” “My name is Legion,” he replied, “for we are many.” 10 And he begged Jesus again and again not to send them out of the area. 11 A large herd of pigs was feeding on the nearby hillside. 12 The demons begged Jesus, “Send us among the pigs; allow us to go into them.” 13 He gave them permission, and the impure spirits came out and went into the pigs. The herd, about two thousand in number, rushed down the steep bank into the lake and were drowned. 14 Those tending the pigs ran off and reported this in the town and countryside, and the people went out to see what had happened. 15 When they came to Jesus, they saw the man who had been possessed by the legion of demons, sitting there, dressed and in his right mind; and they were afraid. 16 Thosewho had seen it told the people what had happened to the demon-possessed man—and told about the pigs as well. 17 Then the people began to plead with Jesus to leave their region. 18 As Jesus was getting into the boat, the man who had been demon-possessed begged to go with him. 19 Jesus did not let him, but said, “Go home to your own people and tell them how much the Lord has done for you, and how he has had mercy on you.” 20 So the man went away and began to tell in the Decapolis how much Jesus had done for him. And all the people were amazed.



You can see how much mercy Jesus had for someone demon-possessed, He saved this man from certain condemnation. If he can find faith and forgiveness then so can we. Then given this gift of forgiveness and faith we need to be sure to do our part to speak to others. To tell our story – no matter how boring or insignificant we might think it is. Trust me when I say this, your story can and does speak to others. You just have to use your voice to share it.


In writing this, I share some of mine. Its comical, because who and how I was, thinking what “I” wanted was more important than what is right, is something I am outwardly against these days. The line drawn between right and wrong should never have to be erased and redrawn. We all have rights and we all have the God given gift of being able to voice our wants and wishes, everyone does. When you get honest though, there is a time to say it and a time not to. Just because you CAN does not always mean you SHOULD.


Lord,

Today I pray for myself and all of us to understand the will of God, what His “right” and “wrong” are and should be. Guide us to walk things out on the side of right and good. Help us use our story for Your Glory, to bring others close to You. Thank You for giving Jesus to take away our sins. I pray all things in Jesus name - AMEN


8 views3 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page