top of page

What You Give vs What You Get

In the old days, when original scripture was written, the “gifts” offered to God were usually in the form of Gold, Silver, then there were also animal sacrifices or burnt offerings, which were animals completely burnt to show submission to God. People did these as being obedient to God, what He wanted, to please Him. People also praised in worship and otherwise, we still do. I’ve been in many a service where the music is wonderful – the lyrics very stirring. I see folks with hands raised – palms to the sky, which is to them a sign of obedience to God that you are open to His word and you are praising Him with your worship. I have to say here that not all folks raise hands during worship, not all folks stand, some folks even lay on the floor or rock side to side. However you worship is between you and God. I believe He appreciates it all because it’s effort on your part and a gift to Him. We don’t do animal sacrifices anymore so what are our gifts to God? Well, we bring our sins to Him and offer them up, asking for His forgiveness. When He forgives them he makes all things new – washes us clean. The scripture below talks about when we bring these to God what we get in return.



Isaiah 61:3 (NIV) provide for those who grieve in Zion— to bestow on them a crown of beauty instead of ashes, the oil of joy instead of mourning, and a garment of praise instead of a spirit of despair. They will be called oaks of righteousness, a planting of the Lord for the display of his splendor.


I just want to give another version – because it’s SO good.


Isaiah 61:3 (MSG) God sent me to announce the year of his grace— a celebration of God’s destruction of our enemies— and to comfort all who mourn, To care for the needs of all who mourn in Zion, give them bouquets of roses instead of ashes, Messages of joy instead of news of doom, a praising heart instead of a languid spirit. Rename them “Oaks of Righteousness” planted by God to display his glory.


Part of that obedience is to be sure and speak our sins to God, not oh God forgive my sins… and this is a hard one for me too some days…but spell them out. Tell God what you really – really need forgiveness for. You know Jesus died for these sins that is a given – God also wants us moving forward to acknowledge them and ask His forgiveness which He readily gives.


So going back to the scriptures above, instead of mourning you get the oil of joy. A Garment of praise, called an oak of righteousness. This all sounds pretty wonderful to me.


A Long time ago I learned an acronym used for prayer that I particularly like:


P is for praise so first thing when praying is praise God for all your blessings – His blessings

R is repent – call out those sins and yes, even though God already knows them be sure to tell Him about them and that you need forgiveness

A is for Ask – ask God for the things you want and need. Ask on your own behalf and for others, especially those who you have committed to praying for. He is a side note – even if your prayer is a 2 second – eyes open prayer – if you tell someone you will pray for them – DO IT.

Y is for Yield we surrender our lives to Jesus and commit to follow Him and let Him lead.

I love this way to look at prayer time, it covers the bases and gives a good guideline. Give over those sins and let God give you back some beauty.


Who doesn’t need more beauty in their lives?? I know I do – bring it on.


Let’s pray

In Jesus Name I give all the glory for the good and the not so good in my life and in the lives of those I love. Even the not so good stuff teaches us so I’ll take it. In Jesus Name I ask for heath, joy and peace for my, my family, my friends, and all who read this. I have asked In the mighty Name of Jesus. I thank You for all blessings and for these requests. AMEN

13 views3 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page