top of page

What He Did …and… Didn’t Say

James 1:19, “My dear brothers and sisters, take note of this: Everyone should be quick to listen, slow to speak and slow to become angry …” (NIV)


Notice here that Jesus said “Should be” when He was giving instruction He did not demand – You ARE to be…He said you should be.



Taking a tone – raising your voice – being stern – demanding – pressing – dictatorial… any way you say it, it still means putting it out there in a bossy manner.


What do you respond to? A clearly “in your face” statement or a comment filled with care and concern? Jesus, Himself did not always speak calm as He knew there was a time for the strong words and boisterousness. Then again, if anyone who has ever walked this earth had the right to be passionate about something He did! He knew and knows the timing and the sense or urgency. God commanded us – did He not - to LOVE. Biting words to not equal love.



Hebrews 10:23-25 23 Let us hold unswervingly to the hope we profess, for he who promised is faithful. 24 And let us consider how we may spur one another on toward love and good deeds, 25 not giving up meeting together, as some are in the habit of doing, but encouraging one another—and all the more as you see the Day approaching.


Proverbs 25:11 11 A word spoken at the right time is like fruit of gold set in silver.


Ephesians 4:29 29 Do not let any unwholesome talk come out of your mouths, but only what is helpful for building others up according to their needs, that it may benefit those who listen.


Colossians 4:6 (ESV) 6 Let your speech always be gracious, seasoned with salt, so that you may know how you ought to answer each person.


Lysa TerKeurst “ You can tell the hard truth but you don’t have to say it in a harsh way”.

Am I perfect in my delivery? Do I always say the right thing? Oh heck no. The other part of it is that I second guess myself. I really do have the heart for others, I want to be encouraging, I also don’t want to be somebody who just tells people what they want to hear. I have in my lifetime been known to be “in your face honest” and while I think honesty is best. I want people to understand my heart… when I want this I also have to practice it. Give others grace when they say things I might not agree with the words or delivery.



Lastly – think before you speak is a wonderful thing. If you believe it (whatever IT is that you are considering saying) ask this… is it …


Is this the right time?


Are these the right words?


Is this loving?


John 16:13,Jesus is saying this: “When the Spirit of truth comes, he will guide you into all the truth, for he will not speak on his own authority, but whatever he hears he will speak, and he will declare to you the things that are to come” (ESV)


A song I really love puts it this way, “May the words that I speak and the thoughts that I meditate on be pleasing to You”


Oh isn’t that just what we all want. To do and say everything that’s pleasing to God. This is what she is talking about in the song. It’s a beautiful one.


Oh Lord, help us use our words to glorify You always. Help us remember to look at a persons heart first and always. Thank You for giving us Grace. In Jesus Name - AMEN


5 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page