top of page

Tribute to a Great Lady

My heart is heavy, my thoughts are many. I did not know her really well but I knew her well enough that she left a mark on my heart. Not related to me except by marriage.

To offer some background, when my daughter was dating at 18 I did not think she was dating the man she would ultimately marry but indeed she did. They dated for a very long period, now looking back on that I know that both of these kids are “old fashioned” in many ways. He is full on family so when his grandma got sick my mind was full of thoughts and prayers.



She just turned ninety this past weekend, which is a joy. Oh to live that long. After that birthday conversation she started coughing and was taken to the ER where they admitted her. She began to decline and ultimately passed away early this morning.


I think back to my relationship with my Grandma Effie, she was soft spoken, gentle in nature and had a laugh that shook her entire body, just an amazing human. She was one of the greatest people I’ve ever known so I understand where my son-in-law is right now. His grandma is a wonderful lady, I’ve met her many times.


My heart aches for him right now because he is grieving her loss. I pray in time it becomes only wonderful memories and good thoughts of the awesome lady she is and always will be

My heart wants to comfort him and his family. For now though I write, to settle my mind and heart.


“Blessed are those who mourn, for they will be comforted.” – Matthew 5:4


“Strength doesn’t come from what you can do. It comes from overcoming the things you once thought you couldn’t.” Unknown


I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.” – John 16:33


“People grow through experience if they meet life honestly and courageously. This is how character is built.” – Eleanor Roosevelt


“…my eyes are dim with grief. I call to you, Lord, every day; I spread out my hands to you.” – Psalm 88:9


“Suffering has been stronger than all other teaching, and has taught me to understand what your heart used to be. I have been bent and broken, but – I hope – into a better shape.” – Charles Dickens


“…the faith and love that spring from the hope stored up for you in heaven and about which you have already heard in the true message of the gospel.” – Colossians 1:5 “God never promised an easy life. He said that we will have suffering and heartaches, but He also promised that He will be with us, to comfort us and reunite us on the other side.” – Jim Sitto


You know, I have come to understand that death is very much a part of life. I’ve lost many family members over the years including all of my Grandparents and many aunts and uncles. My Mom too. It always is so much easier when you know this person went right in to Heaven. There is a peace to that I pray he can get to. For now, I just pray for the family to be together, to share love and laughter. As I was falling to sleep last night I dreamed of them coming home and me stumbling for words to say… and for the longest time just not finding any. So I did what I could – I hugged him with all the love I have. I hugged him tight and used that hug to say what my mouth could not. I love you son. I’m here for you and I’ll be here for you if you need me.


Its so hard when we lose the great ones, they are always missed so much. My heart says, oh but what a legacy she left. She made her mark on him. She loved she shared and she made a lifetime of memories. Things he will take forward with him. He already started, there is a photo of her in his house – now mind you – the youngest child had never seen her in person but boy does he know who she is. He picks up that photo and runs around saying her name over and over. Its really cute.


This is how we live on. We leave a lasting legacy of love. No doubt she was, is and always will be loved.



Dear Heavenly Father, I humbly come to You, asking for nothing but love and peace for this family as they deal with the loss of someone so inspiring. Please be with the family as they begin the next chapter and return to the new normal life. Please be with any family members who are travelling, keep them safe as the return home. Be with them after the dust settles and let them mourn the best way they can and move forward. Honoring her memory, life and legacy. In Jesus Name - AMEN

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page