top of page

THIS is what it is all about


1 Thessalonians 5 11 Therefore encourage one another and build each other up, just as in fact you are doing



So I have this friend who started a fun group of “Empty Nesters” meaning Mommas who’s ikiddos are grown and gone from our house. Some of you might understand the reason for this group and others may not. Either way the key to what she is doing is all about encouraging and offering tips, advice and support for anyone out there struggling.


I am an empty nester so I joined. I don’t have issues with my daughter being out of my house. Oh I don’t particularly like living alone but for the most part it is not horrible. I get to be the queen of the remote, the thermostat, what’s for dinner and all that so this part is pretty cool. I do miss the company; I miss game night or movie night. I miss the interaction.

I think because where my daughter went – she got married and started her own family. I think too because she has a happy home life that I am able to reconcile her not being under my roof. It’s the natural progression. We raise them up to leave.


Anyway, back to my friend. She did a live video feed this morning and talked about her own week which was both wonderful and horrible all together. There were really good parts worth bragging about and talking about…but there were really terrible parts too. She had to put up with someone being verbally abusive and hateful. Something nobody should ever have to put up with. The key to her telling us was how she dealt with it and then how she reacted afterwards.



It's a wonderful reminder – she is an encourager and after being basically attacked, she needed some down time – some ME time. She had to self-serve, self-medicate in a way that was best for her. I expect that self help looks different for us all, but the need is still there. Whatever your medicate is the point is to do it. Take care of you, take care of each other.

Even those who are encouragers, or cheerleaders as she called them – need downtime, need encouragement, need to be loved on. Her video today was so soothing to me because it reminded me that I need to do what I love. I have not written much lately. Today though watching her video, inspired me to write today. I feel pumped to write again. The new job is a super busy one. I’ll have to find time or carve out some time for me to do more of what I love.


Let’s Pray

Dear Heavenly Father, I thank You for my friend who is being such a wonderful servant, she is doing what she knows she needs to do – living our her purpose. Thank You for me being able to watch and get inspired too. Thank You for encouragers. Bless them in what they do and keep them up and able to do what they do which is so needed. In Jesus Name I pray - AMEN

21 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page