top of page

The Root Cause… The Lasting Effect

Feb 8th

If something suddenly interrupted your day – for the good. If you could “cause” this interruption to happen what would that be for you? What does it look like? What if that actually happened? What would be the lasting effect of that interruption?

ROOT CAUSE




Ecclesiastes 9:7 7 Go, eat your food with gladness, and drink your wine with a joyful heart, for God has already approved what you do.


For some in the service industry it could be a nice comment either in person, over the phone or email from a client telling you – good job. Maybe the boss caught you doing something good and said “Great job”. There are lots of scenarios that could bring a smile.


RIPPLE EFFECT




Let me tell you about my sudden interruption today. On any given day I normally read on my lunch break while I sit at my desk. It’s the path of least resistance for me and I get time to disconnect and just read. Sometimes I write but most days I just read and have lunch. Today though my daughter called and was talking to me. She asked me to meet her and I was bummed but I could not. Today is my phone day – I have phone duty (answering it for an hour during lunch). So then she suggested she can pick it up and come eat with me and my sister who works with me too. So a nice little family affair. Lunch of my favorite food = Mexican – taco Tuesday plus my sister, my daughter and my grandchildren. An hour to eat, chat and giggle. My daughter is now an adult and can share in the harder topics with us adults which is really nice. To have another opinion. Then there are my sweet babies… oh but those littles give this Nonnie so much joy. This lunch gave me so much joy I bet I will be high on it for a good long time today. Rightfully so! I enjoy working with my sister its nice to have a friendly face, not that my other co-workers are not nice. It’s just different with her being here.



Nehemiah 8:10 10 Nehemiah said, “Go and enjoy choice food and sweet drinks, and send some to those who have nothing prepared. This day is holy to our Lord. Do not grieve, for the joy of the LORD is your strength.”


Funny how something as simple as an hour with loved ones just really brightens my day. Not that I felt broken today, not that I felt despair. I felt just fine. Now – Now though I feel shear joy. Happiness. Life for this moment, is good. That alone feels fantastic. The conversation was not super light but it was good conversation, my grandson kept kicking off his shoe and he smiled at me several times (this is a win because he has some stranger danger so he cries when he sees strangers). My granddaughter and I played a game of – make her stuffed puppy kiss you… it was great fun. More than anything hearing her giggle. She thought it was super funny to make him kiss me and then I made him kiss her…giggle more then ..tickles… more giggles. My heart sings at this simple joy. Yes, I am blessed because I can see this joy, I can experience it and I can also share it.


Thank You God for the greatest treasures – Family, my kids and my grandbabies and time with them. AMEN.

16 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page