top of page

The First Reaction

So there is this very famous football player. He played in the NFL for years on various teams. He got tossed around or else he went from team to team. It just did not seem he stayed anywhere very long. He played 16 seasons so we got to see him plenty. He is a talented football player, however, his antics are mostly what he is known for. I have said this many a time about him, he plays a fool really well. Outlandish is a adjective used to describe him and as the years went by he just seemed to be more and more foolish. You just never knew what he would do next.



Fast forward to last weekend. I’ve been watching a program where a life coach goes around and does her work to help others. Well, I instantly was intrigued when the football player was her subject for that show. I wondered how he would act and try to make like it was all really ok. Boy was I surprised. He came across very level headed and not a fool at all but someone who had been really hurt, from a young age. His parents were not married to each other. He watched his father raise a family that did not include him. His father didn’t even acknowledge him until he was in his 30’s. Mom was very young when she had him so she worked two jobs to help pay the bills while he lived with Grandma who was very strict.


But first and most importantly seek (aim at, strive after) His kingdom and His righteousness [His way of doing and being right—the attitude and character of God], and all these things will be given to you also.


After watching this show and seeing his pain and the process. She asked him why did he do all those outlandish things. His reply was – he wanted to be heard, seen, acknowledged. Oh my gosh… this hit me like a ton of bricks. I have, so SO many times heard and used the saying “hurt people – hurt people”. I just never even gave it thought that perhaps he could be hurt. He could have a past. I wasn’t extending him any grace.


What a shot in the arm of me not looking at him with God eyes and a God heart, actually if I am being honest it was a big fat 2X4 upside my head. My first reaction was to think him a fool. Then I got to thinking about how people might look at me. First reaction? I am more than my looks. Great reminder. Even though it might sting initially this is an excellent reminder. I think God is patient with us… He knew giving us free will would be an issue at times.


This makes me think of a wonderful scripture about what to ask…


Psalm 139:23-24 Amplified Bible 23 Search me [thoroughly], O God, and know my heart; Test me and know my anxious thoughts; 24 And see if there is any wicked or hurtful way in me, And lead me in the everlasting way.


And lead me in the everlasting way….show me where to go, what to do, what to say, how to be. I like it


Prayer

Oh Jesus, I’m today mindful of needing to have the first and best reaction. I am grateful for grace, I need it. Jesus please be with us all as we go through the day to day, remind us as needed when we need to slow down and react right. Thank You for this blessing. In Your most Precious Name I pray – Amen

10 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page