top of page

The Dry Season


Have you gone through a dry season, a time when you felt lost even when you are surrounded by people. Like one part of your life is falling apart and you can’t seem to figure out how to fix it? How about someone I know going through a rough time in her marriage. She desperately seeks God in every aspect of her life but her husband appears that he may be anesthetized about faith. Oh I know he believes, there just is not the same fire for him as there is for her. This causes struggles because he is in a dry season and she is ahead of him in her walk. Am I saying he is all the way wrong and she is all the way right – nope. I’m just saying what I see from my perspective.


Psalm 63:1 (NLT) A psalm of David, regarding a time when David was in the wilderness of Judah. O God, you are my God; I earnestly search for you. My soul thirsts for you; my whole body longs for you in this parched and weary land where there is no water.


How I long to be able to speak truth and love in to her, I’ve been trying but I just for some reason feel like I might not be the person to do anything more than just stand behind her and pray. I am being as encouraging as I can, I don’t want to offer advice when it wasn’t asked for, I don’t want to come across as judgmental towards the situation. I can spout all the Biblical truths there are out there, sometimes people just need support. Common sense and love.


Matthew 6:21 NIV 21 For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.


Be careful about the snare of the devil. He is constantly on the hunt for those who might be in a dry spell, in a stage of weakness. When something claims your time and your resources. When those things are no OF GOD then they are false idols. This is at the center of the issue, he is not doing anything horrible like cheating, just giving more attention to things that are not God sent. She is trying to point this out and he is resisting. The flesh seems stronger than faith but I know that I know God will fix this.



It frustrates me not to be able to say the perfect thing to help. That’s the fixer in me. I trust God to infiltrate this situation, I trust Him to help them both see where they need to lean on Him and trust each other. I trust that it’s clear I’m not part of the solution, just a shoulder and encourager in this situation.


Ephesians 5:33 NIV 33 However, each one of you also must love his wife as he loves himself, and the wife must respect her husband


I’m sure by now at the end you can see my scattered feelings about this one. It’s not as “together” as my normal writing. That needs to be ok. Some days we have dry patches. Some days we need to learn from them.



Dear Heavenly Father – Thank You for the gift of my friend, thank You for her having a struggle to learn from. Thank You for my lessons in this. Thank You for allowing me to be a friend. Help me give Your words and not mine. Help me encourage her and if I can guide her towards you. Please intervene and give them eyes of Love to see the situation and fix it. Don’t allow it to divide them any longer. In Jesus Name I pray - AMEN


6 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page