top of page

Superabundantly More

In the age of “super-size-me” it’s kind of nice at times to get a larger portion of something than you might have expected. I mean imagine going to – oh lets say – the grocery store and upon checkout the cashier says – here you go an extra gallon of milk – just for shopping here. What a treat. An extra scoop of ice-cream. You take your car to get the oil changed and they vacuum it for you – just the floors but hey that’s one less thing you have to do right? An extra portion. So let’s go beyond that extra to super-extra.



Ephesians 3:20-21 20 Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us, 21 to him be glory in the church and in Christ Jesus throughout all generations, for ever and ever! Amen.


The Message version says - Now to Him who is able to [carry out His purpose and] do superabundantly more than all that we dare ask or think [infinitely beyond our greatest prayers, hopes, or dreams], according to His power that is at work within us

Superabundantly more than all that we dare ask or think. Infinitely beyond our greatest prayer or hope. I mean what the heck does that even look like? Way past the best, ever so much more than superb, greatness on steroids, like all your favorite things, people and places all wrapped up together and just for you! I am really liking this visual. It makes me smile just even considering it.


So if God is able to DO or GIVE more than we can ask or imagine because of the power He placed in us. Does it not make sense that we can ask for the moon? We’ve heard so many times – God knows the desires of your heart – he just wants us to ask for what we want. What’s the worst He can say – no, not today,.. A no from God is sometimes a blessing too. We’ve all had that something we wanted and when it got shut down we were upset but later somehow we see – oh yeah that wasn’t what was best for me or what I needed. But ask – Yes.

So now let’s look at the 2nd part of this verse - to Him be glory in the church and in Christ Jesus throughout all generations, for ever and ever! This seems to me like a call to action – Give God the glory! Glorify Him generation to generation. Do we give glory often? If not we certainly should. Do we instruct the generations to come about giving God the Glory.

Over time being at home and “watching” church has afforded me some time not in a big building setting to watch and also show my Granddaughter (BTW she is almost THREE) about “worship” now I know that all people worship different – I do too. Sometimes it’s just eyes closed, sometimes it’s eyes open. At times I raise both hands and sometimes it’s one. I go with what I’m feeling and what the music is saying and how its speaking to me. I know and have been taught that lifting your hands and aiming your palms to (Heaven) God in surrender. I will come back to my point – want to interject a little something here to backup what I am saying.


In Exodus 17, when the Amalekites try to attack the Israelites, Moses must find a way to defend the people. He holds up the staff of God at the top of a hill, hands raised--in surrender. Moses knows they cannot defend themselves against the Amalekites without God. He knows the power of the Lord is the only way to save the Israelites, so he holds up his hands as if to proclaim his own unworthiness, as if to say, "We can't do this on our own. We need You."


The next verse confirms that idea: "As long as Moses held up his hands, the Israelites were winning, but whenever he lowered his hands, the Amalekites were winning." I just love this story in the Bible – I can see it now Moses up on the hill – arms up. I’ve said this very thing to many people and meant it over the years. I’ll be there to hold up your arms if you get weary. But the point of this story of Moses for the sake of this devotional is the submitting – needing God part.


So back to watching church. My Granddaughter likes the music very much and she watches her Mom and I for a bit then she will just get in to the whole experience herself, not looking at us anymore just her hand up. We don’t’ tell her each time and even if we aren’t doing it, she knows when that worship music starts… I’ve got two really cool videos of my little sweatpea swaying and raising her hand in worship. So this weekend she went to the BIG church – in person, stood on a chair back during worship and had BOTH HANDS up in the air. I don’t know if she understands surrendering to it but even if she does not (yet) – she IS surrendering to it and I know that I know God loves this little girl whos hands are up and she’s worshiping in His house. From the time I gave thought being a Granny I wanted them (my future grands) to know Jesus and to love Him… so much.


So that’s what I call - Superabundantly More. ‘Nuff said!


Dear Heavenly Father – Just giving You all Glory for immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine. Thanking You for all the grace, blessings and love You bring us. In Jesus Name I pray – AMEN.



12 views4 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page