top of page

Strong Take 2


This year I did not set goals, I did not do New Year’s Resolutions. Instead did a 21 day fast and then picked my word for 2022 which is Strong. I love this word for many reasons. It stands for those who face challenges and win. Strong does not allow fear to clobber her faith. Strong experiences tribulations and is thankful for them because they make me stronger and wiser.

Ruth had to have been very strong. To become a widow and then instead of (as customary) go back to her family (Mom & Dad) she instead clung to her Mother in Law - Naomi. I expect this might have been the first occurrence of the term Mom-In-Love – that is if we were doing social media back in her day. Check out Ruth and how Boaz sees her.


Ruth 2:11-12 11 Boaz replied, “I’ve been told all about what you have done for your mother-in-law since the death of your husband—how you left your father and mother and your homeland and came to live with a people you did not know before. 12 May the Lord repay you for what you have done. May you be richly rewarded by the Lord, the God of Israel, under whose wings you have come to take refuge.”


Her faith was entirely different than Naomi (Naomi was and Israelite and Ruth was a Moabite – in some languages –enemy of God), but that didn’t matter Ruth 1:16 ESV But Ruth said, “Do not urge me to leave you or to return from following you. For where you go I will go, and where you lodge I will lodge. Your people shall be my people, and your God my God.


At a time in history when women were not counted and also not given much notice, this woman was a great servant that she got a whole book in the Bible. Imagine that. I expect Strong was a word used many times about Ruth.


Strong also reminds me to be steadfast in my faith, to not waiver when it comes to things I know are of God. Thankfully I don’t get challenged on a daily basis. I do get challenged though and I’m grateful for strength and support. I am forever indebted to God that He constantly shows me signs, gives me verses, provides people in my path to show me – His Strength, so I may have strength.


Yes this year I resolve to be strong, to think strong, live strong and act strong. I hope this challenges you to find your word, meditate on it and resolve to walk it out.


Lord I am so very grateful for all the things around me and all the people around me that help me aspire to be, and stay strong. Lord, I want to be strong in faith, strong in love, strong in wisdom, strong in health and strong in encouragement. Please guide my every thought, every step to do Your will in this pursuit. I thank You for strength. Lord I ask in the name of those reading this that You be with them too in seeking and walking out Your best for them this year too. I ask these things in Jesus Name – AMEN.

4 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page