top of page

So they Won’t Depart


I have one biological child. My daughter has three older brothers. She married a man who is one of five, he has two brothers and two sisters. I have three sisters and two brothers. Why am I telling you all this. Well, simple…. Believing in God comes natural to some, it comes hard to others and then there are times when you’ve had a God filled life and then events happen and you step away from God, from Church. Maybe that looks different for many and especially during these last few years when in some cases we just flat did not have a choice, we were not allowed to GO to church physically. We were limited to watching. I think Churches are so smart to have online where those who cant be there can watch and during epidemic times watching is the only option. At least there is some form of church. I digress, talking about getting away from church. Things can happen and they do. Where you have not been in a while. People – for whatever reason – have not been there. In some cases I venture to think folks might have gotten upset at their church for some reason. Maybe it is a season of change and you are looking for a new place to worship, maybe you are a teen just doing teen things. For any reason there was a stall in attending church.


I admit this happened in my life. Covid was the main culprit. Whatever the reason it was not what I wanted. I wonder if that is true for everyone. I mean you KNOW God and want Him in your life. Why wouldn’t you want to go to church unless there was something holding you back? Hmmm… Anyways, my daughter and her husband met through church. His family attended just like we did. His siblings went to church too just like we did. So all these kiddos were raised up in church. In some ways they all feel like extended family to me.

Circling back around to this weekend.


`Train up a child in the way he should go: and when he is old, he will not depart from it.' (Prov. 22:6.)



One of my SIL’s brother is married and has a daughter who will be 1 in October. First, because of how young the kids were when we first met them – I think – no way they are so young. Heck my daughter was 18 when they started dating. She was 22 when they got married and he was only 23 so these brothers are younger they would have been maybe 15 or 16 and now all married with kids. So this brother is now, past Sunday they were dedicating their daughter.


As I sat there I was struck by how over the years I’ve seen the kids go and stop going to church and then come right back. I believe the foundations were laid and now that there are new babies, they will be routed in God too. I have long since wanted my grandchildren to know and love Jesus. To fully understand and to fully WANT to go to church.


Many times I’ve read about generational things, meaning generation after generation did or did not do certain things. My parents generation went to church as younger people but as I was growing up we just did not. I did not start going regularly until I was almost forty. Just shows it’s never too late.


One thing I know is this, my kids made lots of choices before they got married and also after they were married and one of the best choices they have made and stick to is putting God first. They are grounded / rooted in faith, the marriage is centered in faith and they are teaching and showing their children about faith. One of the early gifts I gave my Granddaughter was a Bible, for her age, not long stories but stores from the Bible really short and good photos. She loves it and reads it every night before bed. She prays before meals with her parents. She may only be three but hearing her talk about Jesus yesterday after church and hearing her say that “I love Jesus” was music to my ears. Seeing this baby dedication is perfect as well. I’m so thankful these parents have decided to raise up these littles with Jesus at the center. It makes me so happy that my choice to go to church and get involved, stay at church and make it a priority as the first generation has stuck. I’m grateful that my SIL’s Mom made church a priority for them too.



I have to give my parents credit, they instilled the beliefs in us. For me and my generation we GO and believe. We want to be members and serve too. I can’t wait to see these grandchildren and what they do with their faith. Looking forward to that. Who knows we could have a pastor in the family or missionaries.


Dear Heavenly Father, Thank You for letting it stick when we started attending. Thank You for leading us to the right Church, hearing the best messages for us at the time so we could be rooted in faith. Thank You for the best when you say – train them up and they won’t depart. Thank You for the blessings of these parents pouring in to the next generation so my grands can life the best life too. Thank You for wrapping your arms around them and protecting them, teaching them and loving them. In Jesus Name - AMEN


13 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page