top of page

sin-sick, not the spiritually-fit

I remember early on in my faith walk and going to church how people would always say – I need to be fed too. Meaning, I want whatever sermon I hear to give me spiritual food for my soul, I need to feed my soul with great worship, good sermons so I fill up and feel spiritually strong. I also remember a very distinctive series pastor did about the table and in a brief description he said that once you start your faith walk (in the high chair – baby believer) then get in to going to church you have to move to a different chair at the table – one of a servant (big chair). I agree, things change and so should your job as a Christian. You need to serve those coming in – baby believers. Serve them how – well now that’s up to you. Find where your gift can be of the most use. Don’t forget though, while you are here you also need to feed. Find ways to now as a more mature believer – to feed yourself. Self soothe if you will. Podcasts, video sermons, good worship music, listen to other pastors.



Mark 2:15-17 15 Later, Levi invited Jesus and his disciples to his home as dinner guests, along with many tax collectors and other disreputable sinners. (There were many people of this kind among Jesus’ followers.) 16 But when the teachers of religious law who were Pharisees[b] saw him eating with tax collectors and other sinners, they asked his disciples, “Why does he eat with such scum?[c]” 17 When Jesus heard this, he told them, “Healthy people don’t need a doctor—sick people do. I have come to call not those who think they are righteous, but those who know they are sinners.”


Sometimes I think those who are Christ followers need some replenishment, or re-feeding. So we keep up with our side of the deal. We seek those and talk to them about the good news, we care for them, provide them spiritual food.


Something that has stayed with me from the time I heard it to now and I’m sure always is this – You have never locked eyes with someone who is not important to Jesus. Every appointment is an important one because that one brief moment in time, that you are talking to a certain person, might be the only time in their life that someone talks to them about Jesus and if you don’t take the opportunity then they will miss out and for sure Jesus is going to ask… why didn’t you talk to that person – you had opportunity.

Make the most of those divine appointments!!



Dear Heavenly Father – help us always remember to stay full so we can deposit in to those who need Your good news. With thanks - Amen

9 views4 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page