top of page

She is Skipping In

I never wanted or intended to be a single parent, life just had its way and there I was like it or not. As a single parent my mind was filled with concern for how to raise this child, was I capable, could I raise her right, did I have what it took. Would I mess her up for life. It came down to this – getting myself to the point where I was ok with doing my best. I kept looking for something more to bring to the table and eventually I found what I was looking for. I found faith. I found someone to have my back, to have my front to walk along side me, to carry me when I was weak. In the beginning I was looking for a tick off list – a rule book, a how to raise this child and do it right.


Proverbs 22:3-6 Amplified 3 A prudent and far-sighted person sees the evil [of sin] and hides himself [from it], But the naive continue on and are punished [by suffering the consequences of sin]. 4 The reward of humility [that is, having a realistic view of one’s importance] and the [reverent, worshipful] fear of the Lord Is riches, honor, and life. 5 Thorns and snares are in the way of the obstinate [for their lack of honor and their wrong-doing traps them]; He who guards himself [with godly wisdom] will be far from them and avoid the consequences they suffer. 6 Train up a child in the way he should go [teaching him to seek God’s wisdom and will for his abilities and talents], Even when he is old he will not depart from it.


I had been a single Mom for a few years and had to make some hard choices. One of those was where to live. I needed desperately to have a good school system so my child could have a great opportunity to learn and thrive. So in our search we found a place and a school district that was just the ticket. So now that the all day -daycare was done next is kindergarten. Supplies purchased, clothes bought, of course I was not going to allow her to see me because I was a blubbering idiot – my baby is in kindergarten and I’m a mess. The daycare bus pulled in and there were to little girls and a boy. The girls held hands and skipped in as I watched from my car not far away. I was snapping photos with my disposable camera. Pretty soon Katie ran out to grab my camera and went back in to take photos for me of the girl. All I could do it let her spread her wings and fly. Let her experience school, learning, friends, the whole thing. I just have to sit back and believe I’ve given her a foundation and she will do good.



It's been many years since my daughter skipped in to kindergarten years ago and I watched. It was time I won’t ever forget. I was so glad to have been able to be there even though she did not know until later that I was there. My daughter just called me, today my grand daughter is heading in to pre-kindergarten with her new backpack and lunchbox, a pretty polkadot dress and a big smile. Ready to skip in to her day of a new year – more learning.

For all of my fears when my child had that first day, I feel very secure in my grand daughters first day. Why – because she has been taught, she has the foundation, she has two parents who love her and teach her, parents who are all the way invested in her. She has faith, she knows Jesus is in her heart because she has told me how much she loves Jesus. This firm foundation is something I know that I know will stay with her. Oh I think there may be times when she might wonder about it, maybe even doubt it…I also know she will always come back. There is so much peace in that. I had so many doubts as a Mom that I did not see my daughter had a good foundation too. It was my own insecurities that prevented me from seeing it. I let my fears overtake my common sense. Thankfully we found faith and I was able to have that faith as our foundation.


Friends, if you are a couple – and parents, if you are a single Mom or a single Dad, if you are a family member raising a child or children… rest in this…. Being a parent is one of the biggest jobs we have on this earth, it is so vital that we do a good job. We can’t just be on again and off again, we need to be all in. Our children didn’t ask to be brought in to this world. We OWE them a life and a life that is good. Don’t spend time doubting yourself. Let love and logic lead the way and if you can if you would let Jesus be your guide. With Him and His faith foundation you never have to doubt, you never have to worry, you have all you need in Him.



Then – when your children are grown and gone. You need not worry that they are ok, you can trust that Jesus has them – then – now – and always. No matter if you talk to them daily, monthly or never. God won’t leave them rest easy in this. . 6 Train up a child in the way he should go [teaching him to seek God’s wisdom and will for his abilities and talents], Even when he is old he will not depart from it.


Let’s Pray

First, I want to thank You for every person reading this – please bless them and the family they represent. Jesus, Thank You for giving us the gift of parenthood. Thank You for allowing us to be with them, love them, see them grow and flourish. Jesus, please be with them even when they leave home and are on their own. Keep them safe, let them understand and value the lessons, help them always remember that You and we as parents are always on their side. Guide them in the day to day and help them remember always – we love them. Thank You - AMEN

11 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page