top of page

Setback

My daughter once said, “A setback is just a set up for a comeback”. There is so much truth in this. Setbacks often feel like earth ending, world shattering things but when you get past them you can see hope. I get that when the issue is occurring that you feel like it’s not going to stop or that it can’t get worse. I agree, I’ve been there and done that. It’s ok to be broken, it’s ok to not be ok. Mourning a loss is a human function, go ahead and feel the loss. Then heal.


Psalm 34:18 “The Lord is near to the brokenhearted and saves the crushed in spirit.” Psalm 73:26 “My flesh and my heart faileth: but God is the strength of my heart, and my portion forever.” Matthew 5:4 “Blessed are they that mourn: for they shall be comforted.”



So a friend just called very upset and just beside herself. Her youngest daughter just got married the beginning of this month, moved away from home and travelled lots of miles to her new home. Her Mom was upset because they just found out the moving truck caught on fire and it was a total loss. Childhood memories, photos, drawings, everything. I can identify somewhat, I did loose some of my photos in my flood years ago, I was heartbroken about these things that I cannot replace. I feel for her, this is a great loss.


Immediately my mind went to the daughter, she is safe, she is not hurt or injured, so we have a win. I know her things are damaged or destroyed, but she is fine. I have to be thankful for that. My mind also goes to the story of Job where he lost his family (literally – all his children died), he lost his fortune, he lost his land and crops. He had total failure. During all this he was expected to curse God and blame him for the devastating losses but instead he was prayerful and thankful for God. So - God restored ten-fold all that Job had lost.


Let’s Pray


Dear Heavenly Father, First I ask you to be with this new couple, let them feel Your loving arms surround them as they start again from scratch. Please let them understand the loss and understand that You are there and You will be with them. Please bring miraculous evidence of Your love from this situation so they know and know and know that You are with them. Help them build that firm foundation in You. I also ask that if there are others out there experiencing loss that you envelope them as well, giving them peace for the next steps. I thank You and ask all in the mighty name of Jesus - AMEN

9 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page