top of page

READY…SET…RACE


What is your race? What is mine? How long have you run your race? I’ve been running mine since 2003… How much longer until you are at the finish? How fast are you running? What sort of race are you running? Mine has had some hills – uphill that is and some have been a downhill run, easy and going. What is it supposed to look like? What is the purpose of the run?


Hebrews 12: 1-2 12 Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles. And let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us, 2 fixing our eyes on Jesus, the pioneer and perfecter of faith.



When I think about my race it is something that carries so many feelings and thoughts, what is my purpose for the race? I knew when I said the prayer of salvation that it mean service, service to God and God’s people - my purpose and my race, I also in time had my eyes opened to another part of my purpose and that is as one of those cloud of witnesses - encourager. As I began to serve at Church it was very busy because between my daughter and I we had several places where we both served and it kept us very engaged. Being this wrapped up many times felt like too much. I had to step back and really pray about what and how much we were doing. Not that any of what we were doing was hard, it was just consuming. There has to be time for other things. Balance.


Over the course of time I developed this thought, service to God and His people is a – rest of my life thing – therefore, I have to pace myself. When you think about – rest of your life- how long is that? For me I was thinking 40 or 50 more years. I seriously doubt that if I ran 50 years at that break neck speed - ninety-miles-an-hour with my hair on fire for the duration … I’d be worn out before the first 5. I have to be able to withstand the entire time, there is no too tired or can’t do when you serve God. You can’t serve for the duration if you are tired, worn down and not on your best game.


In the scripture it talks about the great cloud of witnesses, those are your encouragers. People in your life who help you run your race. It is wonderful to have them when you need them and even when you don’t. People who are there for all times, not just in times of need. I am most thankful for those people in my life. I also aspire to be a good encourager. I want to be someone who puts the God perspective on things and offers a good word when its needed.


I want to champion those running the race, to be at the start line, in the middle and at the end saying – GO and You got this and WOO HOO – Way to GO!!! Well Done!

Every race is important, every race is special, every racer is precious in the eyes of Jesus. Keep running your race, I’ll run mine.



Jesus, it is in Your Name I pray that all who read this are blessed, that they know their race is important and that they need to run it how You need them to run it. Jesus watch over us in times when the race is uphill, help us get through those hurdles and trials, Help us keep running and go until its time to stop. Thank You for running with us always. AMEN


9 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page