top of page

P * R * I * D * E

Pride is the deadliest of the deadly sins. In fact, all sin is in some way a form of pride because sin elevates our ego ahead of all else. The antidote to pride is humility

James 4:6 But he gives us more grace. That is why Scripture says: “God opposes the proud but shows favor to the humble.”


In the fight someone who never admits fault and never backs down from thinking they are right. Pride – check


Not asking for help when you need it – objecting to an offer to help. Pride – check


Proverbs 11:2 “When pride comes, then comes disgrace, but with humility comes wisdom.”



Do those who have a large amount of pride know they do? If so do they think Pride is good? I for one, have lost a lot of my selfish pride over the years. I still have a bit. Not like I used to. I knew I was prideful and didn’t care. I do now.


Proverbs 16:5 “The LORD detests all the proud of heart. Be sure of this: They will not go unpunished.”


Do the proud understand the harmful effects of having too much pride? I don’t think I did all the way. if I did I just brushed it off.



Proverbs 16:18 “Pride goes before destruction, a haughty spirit before a fall.”


It talks in the proverb above about pride coming before a fall. Meaning - A person who is excessively proud will often suffer a setback or failure. That pride will trip you up for sure. The problem is too identify it and to do something about it before you fall. Before it gets the best of you.


The opposite of pride is humility. The Bible says that true humility and fear of the Lord “lead to riches, honor, and long life” (Proverbs 22:4, NLT). In both the Old and New Testament, humility is essential for establishing a right relationship with God and other people. Humility is also necessary for maintaining a proper perception of ourselves.


James 4:6-7 And he gives grace generously. As the Scriptures say, “God opposes the proud but gives grace to the humble.” So humble yourselves before God. Resist the devil, and he will flee from you. (NLT)


Proverbs 11:2 When pride comes, then comes disgrace, but with humility comes wisdom. (NIV)


2 Chronicles 7:14 If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then I will hear from heaven, and I will forgive their sin and will heal their land. (NIV)


Isaiah 66:2 My hands have made both heaven and earth; they and everything in them are mine. I, the LORD, have spoken! I will bless those who have humble and contrite hearts, who tremble at my word. (NLT)


Matthew 23:11–12 The greatest among you shall be your servant. Whoever exalts himself will be humbled, and whoever humbles himself will be exalted. (ESV)


I especially love this line - then I will hear from heaven, and I will forgive their sin and will heal their land. (NIV) if you are humbled then God will do this. God will, WILL hear you and heal your land. Take captive any feelings of pride, those are not of God and won’t serve you.


Dear Heavenly Father, If there are others out there who like me, are a work in progress, please help us identify areas of pride and help us to humble ourselves. Help us keep that humble spirit. We ask all in Jesus Name - AMEN


6 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page