top of page

Once Upon a Time


Long ago as a child, I had the most vivid imagination. I would dream up play places then go there to have a fun filled afternoon, I could get utterly lost in my play places as a kid. When we were little my sister and I played freeze tag but not the typical type. We had a window unit (AC) in our apartment and it was in the dining room so the table and chairs presented a nice maze we had to crawl through. So if we got hit with the cold air we had to freeze until the other came and touched to unfreeze. What a wonderful game. I still remember crawling around like it was yesterday. Both of us giggling at being frozen. Trying to get away from the chill but at the same time enjoying the cold air on a warm day.


Getting older my thoughts were of “when I grow up” and what that would look like. I think I bought in to the fairy tale of… a house with a white picket fence, a large wrap around porch with plenty of rocking chairs, a husband and children, dogs and cats and the perfect home.


You know, I am not 10 anymore, I am well past that and I have to say I have never had that home, never had what the fairy tale involved. I supposed I could be upset about this, I could be angry that I never got my fairy tale. I can also be happy in my circumstances. Happy that at times in my life I’ve had to battle back from not so good situations. Those trying times create in me a person who can weather a storm.


John 10:10 The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy; I have come that they may have life, and have it to the full.


I’m not at all happy when the thief comes, I’m also not afraid of the thief. Part of faith is knowing that God has my back. God won’t let him win, and I’m not playing his games either. With all we have going on in our world today, the best defense for what comes next is a great offense and that’s God. His word, His promises. Read it again - I have come that they may have life, and have it to the full. Jesus said this. Jesus didn’t say things He did not mean.



Let me give you more, after the statement above He said more, John 10: 11 11 “I am the good shepherd. The good shepherd lays down his life for the sheep. And then more in John 10: 17-18 17 The reason my Father loves me is that I lay down my life—only to take it up again. 18 No one takes it from me, but I lay it down of my own accord. I have authority to lay it down and authority to take it up again. This command I received from my Father.”


He is willing to die for us, He is willing to surrender his own life – of His own free will. Just so He can give and give more, He gives us eternal life. John 10:25-30 25 Jesus answered, “I did tell you, but you do not believe. The works I do in my Father’s name testify about me, 26 but you do not believe because you are not my sheep. 27 My sheep listen to my voice; I know them, and they follow me. 28 I give them eternal life, and they shall never perish; no one will snatch them out of my hand. 29 My Father, who has given them to me, is greater than all[c]; no one can snatch them out of my Father’s hand. 30 I and the Father are one.”


I can’t think of a more fitting gesture of a love than to give His own life for ours. That is more valuable than the fairy tale, better than any bricks and mortar home. Better than anything I can think of honestly.



I’m so grateful for the grace and mercy I’ve been given. It’s the best story ever. Beginning, middle and end.


I’ll take that over a fairy tale any and all day!



Dear Heavenly Father, Thank You for Your version of my story. Thank You for giving us all a story You want us to have. Please teach us which lessons You want us to have from the story. I humbly ask for more of… they lived happily ever after. In Jesus Name I ask - AMEN

9 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page