top of page

My Story

(Before Posting - just a word - I am being transparent here and telling my story. Not looking for judgement. I am NOT who i used to be. that's the point of having a story).



So when you tell your testimony you are supposed to tell about your life before Jesus, then your life after Jesus. For me that’s pretty easy and I was tasked years ago with telling my testimony in front of a room full of people and boy was that daunting. I had no idea how to tell my story what parts of it, if any or all. The thing is, my story might not speak to everyone but if it speaks to only one person then my story has done its job.


My family called me mischievous as a kid. Like the time I took an entire box of crackers from Grandma and Grandpa’s house and decorated the tree out front. Oh then there was the time I got in the car, locked the doors and put the car in reverse. I was less than 6 years old but I surely remember my Dad’s face as I started rolling backwards.


As a teen I did and said things that were troublesome. As I got older I got in my fair share of predicaments. I also tried to be mature and good but I don’t believe I understood completely the “right” way to be. Oh yes my parents instilled in us good values. Right and Wrong but oh how we wanted to rebel. It’s just the truth. Its MY story and I’m sticking to it…because … it gets better…it GOT better.


Here is some of Jesus Story…Before He began his Ministry…


Luke 2:16-20 16 They hurried to the village and found Mary and Joseph. And there was the baby, lying in the manger. 17 After seeing him, the shepherds told everyone what had happened and what the angel had said to them about this child. 18 All who heard the shepherds’ story were astonished, 19 but Mary kept all these things in her heart and thought about them often. 20 The shepherds went back to their flocks, glorifying and praising God for all they had heard and seen. It was just as the angel had told them. Luke 2:41-49 The Boy Jesus Amazes the Scholars 41 His parents went to Jerusalem every year at the Feast of the Passover. 42 And when He was twelve years old, they went up to Jerusalem according to the custom of the feast. 43 When they had finished the days, as they returned, the Boy Jesus lingered behind in Jerusalem. And [l]Joseph and His mother did not know it; 44 but supposing Him to have been in the company, they went a day’s journey, and sought Him among their relatives and acquaintances. 45 So when they did not find Him, they returned to Jerusalem, seeking Him. 46 Now so it was that after three days they found Him in the temple, sitting in the midst of the teachers, both listening to them and asking them questions. 47 And all who heard Him were astonished at His understanding and answers. 48 So when they saw Him, they were amazed; and His mother said to Him, “Son, why have You done this to us? Look, Your father and I have sought You anxiously.” 49 And He said to them, “Why did you seek Me? Did you not know that I must be about My Father’s business?50 But they did not understand the statement which He spoke to them.


So now on to my story, before Jesus I tried to be a good person but I seemed to fail miserably or so it felt like. Looking back I did some good things and was a good person and I was also not all the way perfect and pleasing. To put adjectives on what I was before Jesus –Stupid, lazy, I lied, I put other things before God and faith, I denied faith, I had a child out of wedlock, I valued money and objects, I cheated, was mean spirited, lost, did not honor my parents, I spoke angry and hate filled words to those who frustrated me, I believed myself smarter than most, I was vain and arrogant, I was never wrong, I had sloth and gluttony issues and so many more. I was also honest, wise and good and more - the thing is not always, not consistent. At this point in my life I feel like I was spinning around in the wrong circles. I needed to find a way out of the cycle.


One random weekend I got a call from my daughter’s older brother (not my child) and he was depressed, speaking about how down and out he was. I didn’t know what to do except try to get him around good people – where is that – oh right – church… so we picked the church, set up a weekend visit. My sister and her husband, my daughter and I showed up but he didn’t so we decided to attend anyway. That very first sermon, captured my attention – I understood what he was saying… so we began going to church regularly and something clicked in me, the things Pastor was saying really made sense, they seeped in to my core and soaked in to the point where I just did not want the old ways any longer. I needed a fresh start, a fresh life with renewed Goodness and mercy – I needed Jesus as my savior. So I asked Jesus in to my life at age 39, several months later my daughter and I were baptized side by side. Now there are so many adjectives that describe my life – since finding Jesus. I could list them all here. I am not going to because they cannot fully describe my life, oh it’s far from perfect now – I have bad days but more times than not I have great days, I see evidence all the time of God’s mercy on my life – so that description about my life now – that’s easy. Forgiven



Dear Heavenly Father – Thank You for Forgiveness, For allowing Jesus to die for my sin. Thank You for my story. Lord, if it speaks to just one person then it is for Your glory. I pray it speaks to many and I thank You for giving me this story. In Jesus Name Amen



15 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page