top of page

Joy is a Verb

Smack in the middle of all the chaos going on at this time, I have joy and I mean JOY – the verb Joy. I feel it, it’s present, active and alive it feels like. I have many reasons to feel joy, I have a wonderful family, I have really amazing friends, and I have a job and my health. Many reasons to celebrate. There is one thing that no matter the situation – it gives me joy. It makes me laugh, it fills my heart, keeps that silly grin on my face.


It’s my Granddaughter.


Any of you that know me know I was hinting, asking, teasing and many other adjectives to describe how much I wanted grandchildren after my kids got married. It was something I was very excited for and when the time finally came it was so much more than I ever thought or dreamed.


Now that my little Ladybug is mobile – I mean walking really well and running on her tippy toes, she is even more fun. She is aware of more and lots more curious, and she can play and run so the fun is ON. She also interacts really great right now. Now you can judge, I’ll let you – yesterday we played the napkin game. While she is eating – we usually eat at the same time – she in her high chair with her food. She will have a messy face and hands so I get a napkin and wipe her face for her, then she has to hold the napkin while I lean in and she wipes my face. Then it’s several minutes of back and forth then a huge bought of really good laughter. I’ve always thought hearing a baby laugh is one of the best sounds ever, when that baby is your grandbaby it’s all the more sweet.


A hand puppet and I’m going to tickle her with it so she screams and runs away, but in a second she’s back close – I know that’s my clue – get me Nonnie. I reach out and she laughs and the giggles come then run away. I could do it all day. My daughter says I’ve messed up her daughter because she has no clue those things on the end of her feet are toes, she thinks they are “piggies” – you know this little piggie went to market, this little piggie stayed home… that was always a fun in the car game since we both usually sit in the back seat.


She loves dogs, she often hears them behind the apartment because they live near the dog park, and she does her little imitation of a bark when she hears them. So Sunday I kept telling (the echo dot) Alexa to bark like a dog and she did, I had a good long time of her jumping in my lap, laughing and barking to tell Alexa to bark more. It was a fun game, many times I was laughing so hard I had to tell Alexa twice to bark because I was giggling too much that she could not understand me.



My joyful song today is “Elmo’s world” and I’m singing praises to God for the gift of Joy, the gift of my Granddaughter and the joy she brings to my life.


Psalm 100:2 Worship the Lord with gladness; come before him with joyful songs.

Let’s Pray

Lord, thank You for blessings, thank You for showing us the light, allowing us to see Your greatest things, especially when we could look at other things. Please keep bringing those joy moments. We thank You. –Amen

17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page