top of page

Its Too Heaby (Heavy)

My Granddaughter loves to help. She really loves to help carry the groceries in from the car, then she likes to help unload the bags. She’s super helpful. The only time she can’t is when things are too big or as she would say… “it’s too heaby”



Right now for me I’ve got some “Heaby”. Just day to day living and working is fine… not too much at all… In the lives of those around me there is so much going on. I have two family members who live together and recently were told by the landlord that they need to vacate the house. This is a rush job and now we are all pitching in to help them both with getting rid of things, selling things, finding a new place and moving. Lots of Chaos to say the least. It’s not physically challenging yet, it will be but the mental side of it and dealing with someone who does not remember everything is challenging too. Repeating things again and again.


When you pass through the waters, I will be with you; and when you pass through the rivers, they will not sweep over you. When you walk through the fire, you will not be burned; the flames will not set you ablaze. — Isaiah 43:2 (NIV)


I’ve been for a long time Godly council to my kids, to friends and other family. It is a blessing to be able to be there for folks especially when they need someone to talk to. Sometimes a good shoulder is just the ticket to life’s every day stuff. I know that encouragement is my gifting. I really do enjoy being able to love on folks. It gives me much joy. When I feel heavy my ability to minister to others suffers and I get even more frustrated.


“Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid.” — John 14:27 (NIV)


Today, though, feels overwhelming. For many reasons the load feels “too Heaby”, I find myself having to stop several times today and just pray for peace. I know that only God can be all things to all people. I cannot be that to anyone. I can only do my best and leave the results up to God. Being in this position bothers me because I can’t be a good friend, a good listener or a good advisor if I am feeling chaotic.



Being transparent is hard sometimes but being transparent / honest is a good thing. Calling it what it is… a tough day… is just that. I know though that I have peace in God and I’m going to just meditate on that.


I’m sure this is pretty comical because to anyone passing my office (today) they would think – she’s napping – actually I’m praying. Praying and Praying.


Do not let my heart be troubled. Ok I’ll do that.


Dear Lord, Please calm the storm. Take away the feeling of overwhelming situation right now. Give me peace so I can work my way through. Lord please also be with anyone else out there feeling the weight of things today and give them peace, let not their hearts be troubled either. I ask all these things in Jesus Name - AMEN

14 views3 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page