top of page

If He Came Back Today

I heard a sermon this morning that reminded me of something that happened in my life years ago. I was pretty new in my faith but I was on fire. I had a quest to know more. There were a few things that confused me at this time. There were also things that straight up scared me stupid. So let me tell you about that. I had faith, I was feeling strong in that faith but one day something happened, it was something I read. A Passage where Jesus was talking to some people who by all accounts should have recognized Him as the Messiah. They were learned folks, those who had studied the prophecies and old Bible stories. So why wouldn’t they know Him? This scared me, before I go further here is the scripture I read that caused me to let fear creep in and interfere with my faith.


John 10:27-30 27 My sheep listen to my voice; I know them, and they follow me. 28 I give them eternal life, and they shall never perish; no one will snatch them out of my hand. 29 My Father, who has given them to me, is greater than all[c]; no one can snatch them out of my Father’s hand. 30 I and the Father are one.”



So for context, again, this is Jesus saying “My sheep … they know my voice”. Would I know His voice, did I know enough? Would I know by then? What would it take to get me where I would know…that I know..that I KNOW…I was pondering this and took my questions to work. I was trying to find answers. I asked a co-worker who was also a Christian. Our conversation went along the lines of “what would Jesus look like”’ We guessed that He would look like anyone today, He likely would blend in “looks wise” but when He spoke, that’s when people who studied the Word would know. From that point on I knew – I needed to learn and be versed on all things Jesus so when He comes back I’ll know. Getting to this conclusion was not just that easy, it took an event.


So we had just been talking about this and no more than a week later, it happened. My desk was at the front, where everyone coming in would see me first. I had a very large built in desk that was very long and had an eye level counter in front of me. The door is glass so I could see anyone coming before they got to the door. Our office at this time was in a building with at least 10 other suites, we occupied two and the owner rented out the others. At the very end – the other end from where we were was a place that helped people, they were funded by local churches and had just about anything someone might need, blankets, clothing, medical care, food, they vetted folks but they were really helpful. This said, lots of times people would stop in my door and ask if we were that place and I would have to tell them all the way down at the end. So this day it was around 3ish in the afternoon and the skies were really ugly with a big storm that was dropping some big old rain on us. I mean it was coming down large. It was really dark outside much like night time when this man walked in. I would describe him as a medium built man with a receeding hairline and a bit of a belly, very typical guy. I can’t say he was old but I know he was likely older than me at the time. He ducked in and just looked at me for a few minutes, I asked if I could help him. He wanted to know if we had any jobs open, he needed one. I asked him to have a seat and I’d go find the supervisor who was there. I grabbed some paper towels from the kitchen area and took them to him, said Sorry this is all I have. Don’t have any regular towels. Then off I went to find Scot. He said we had nothing to offer this guy. I felt bad, my walk back up front was slow, knowing I’d have to deliver this news. I explained with an apology we didn’t have anything. I asked him if he wanted to sit a bit before heading back out. I also told him about the folks at the end of the building, that perhaps they could offer him something. He proceeded to tell me he had cancer. He was desperate to find a job. The more he said the worse I felt. After a while he finally said he would go down and talk to the people on the end. Honestly I felt really bad for him but there wasn’t anything I could do. I wasn’t in a position to give him a job.

I didn’t think much more about him until TWO weeks later.


This was a Saturday evening, I was going to Church to volunteer and then attend the following service. It’s important that I stop right here and say that my church and my office were not near each other. As a matter of fact they were at least 25 miles from each other. I say that because when I went to check in at our church’s volunteer area – there he was. Yes I am 100% sure, it was him. I was really taken aback. Shocked to say the very least. I am not sure I heard any of the service that evening because my mind was racing, why was he here? How did he get here. What the heck? It bothered me for all that evening but after that I let it go.


That is until the following week.


On week after I saw him at my church, I was back at work. He popped his head in the door of my office and said, “Hi do you remember me?” “yes I do, how are you?” He said, “I just wanted to thank you for your kindness to me a few weeks ago”. That was all just thank you. I told him good luck and he was welcome.


Ok so 25+ miles at the church then 25+ miles back to my office. He walked him that first time I saw no vehicle. He was on foot both times. How is this possible?



Here is where my mind was going…

Matthew 26:27 27 For as lightning that comes from the east is visible even in the west, so will be the coming of the Son of Man.


This assures us that Jesus will be back. – when?

Matthew 24:36 36 “But about that day or hour no one knows, not even the angels in heaven, nor the Son,[a] but only the Father.


But He will be back.

Hebrews 9:28 28 so Christ, having been offered once to bear the sins of many, will appear a second time, not to deal with sin but to save those who are eagerly waiting for him.


Again I go to the first question - will I know Him, do I know His voice? Was this man – Him? I didn’t think so but who the heck am I to know if it was or was not. Now this many years later I know it was not Jesus. I’m glad it wasn’t because since then many wonderful things have happened that I would miss otherwise. This situation sure did get my attention though. Do I know Him, do I know His voice? Will I know Him when He returns.


This far down the road I believe I have a much better feel for who Jesus is. Am I sure, Oh I think I am. I’m not sure if anyone can be 100% except maybe Billy Graham. It was enough to really make me think and rethink and go back again and again to this instance. From that time on, when we’ve done Bible studies I’ve said out loud. I want to know and study and find out all I can about Jesus and His followers, all of them. As much as I can. I want to be as sure as Billy Graham.


Beyond just knowing Jesus, what He would say and knowing Him… we are to spread the good news. We are called to tell others.


Matthew 4: 18-19 18 And Jesus, walking by the sea of Galilee, saw two brethren, Simon called Peter, and Andrew his brother, casting a net into the sea: for they were fishers. 19 And he saith unto them, Follow me, and I will make you fishers of men



I believe for sure that God gave me a gift, the gift of writing. I believe it is in this context that I am to share the good news. I pray one day it will reach many, many more than it does now. I would love to know that something in my story or something I said, or something I wrote caused someone to seek out Jesus and faith. That’s my prayer.


Lord, Hear our prayer – Be with us so that when that time comes – we KNOW. Give us forums to share your word to others. Let our lives be living it out for others to see. Give us Your words when we share this amazing news. We thank You – In Jesus most precious name we pray - AMEN

10 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page