top of page

His Faithful Servant




Photo Above: Aunt Lee (L), Mom (M), Aunt Mary (R) 2012


In 1980, I was 17 years old. We lived on the East Coast. I had flown to Texas for the summer to spend with Dad. Mom and the rest of the family were driving from there to Texas in our camper, then we would go to California and back cross the country home. This was a long and HOT trip but so many great things happened.


When we got to Texas we had get together at my Aunt Mary and Uncle Buzzy’s house in Cedar Hill, they had a big piece of land behind the house and we had a great time playing and visiting. My Grandparents come in from Bowie so it was them, tons of Aunts and Uncles and cousins until the day was long. Gosh my whole childhood was full of these gatherings, family reunions, eating, playing games, music and dancing. The greatest of memories.

This summer my Aunt Mary took me, my brother and sister aside, I’ll never forget this… she explained that Jesus died for our sins and that we needed to be grateful and invite Him in to our hearts. She led us through the prayer of salvation that day in 1980 and then gave each of us a small white Bible to keep after we prayed this prayer.  What a happy occasion this was. We now had salvation. Beyond this day I had many a conversation with Aunt Mary and her twin Aunt Martha about salvation, God and much more. They both were so dedicated in faith.



Photo (above): Grandma & Grandpa Strickland 1980 Cedar Hill, TX


Its been a bit over a year since we lost Aunt Martha, today I found our Aunt Mary passed. The first thing that came to mind is Matthew 25:23 because Mary IS and WAS always His good and faithful servant. She was not afraid to talk to anyone about Jesus. She was a prayer warrior and a very strong Christian Woman. I admired her strength in faith. I respected her dedication to study the word and share the gospel of Jesus.

 

Matthew 25:23 NIV   23 “His master replied, ‘Well done, good and faithful servant! You have been faithful with a few things; I will put you in charge of many things. Come and share your master’s happiness!’

 

Today even though I am sad about the passing of my Aunt, I rejoice with her that she now is in Heaven, with her twin, her husband, my Mom, all of her other brothers and sisters plus Grandma and Grandpa. Heaven is a better place with her there too.


I pay tribute to my Aunt Mary and her life of service. I am grateful she thought enough of me to lead me in that prayer. This much time since then I am grateful for that day, that prayer, her persistence and for our willingness to pray that perfect prayer.


I am sad for my family, especially my cousins and their children because they have lost a Mom and Granny but I know that they know just like I do, she earned her wings and is singing all the gospels in Heaven.


I go back to my own Mom’s funeral. Aunt Mary and Aunt Martha came, knowing this I wanted to be sure there was something they would appreciate about the service so we incorporated several of those old hymns. We sang the Old Rugged Cross, it was precious and I’m glad I did that because I hope and pray it gave my aunts some peace about the loss of their dear sister.


Because of who my Aunt Mary believed in I will say this, if anyone reading this had never said the prayer of salvation and needs to…let her example push you to do that. You won’t regret it.



Photo: Back Row: Grandma (L), Dave (R), Front Row: Holly (L), Mom, Lisa, Mary and Robbie. I was taking the photo. Celebrating Grandma's birthday. this was a fun day!


I know that God is most pleased with my Aunt Mary for her dedication in life of spreading the good word. I know when she arrived He was there waiting with open arms to invite her in to join the party / reunion in Heaven.



Photo Above: this was in 1964 at Uncle Bud's funeral. The Strickland family in birth order

Left to Right: Uncle Donald, Uncle Jack, Uncle James, Aunt Martha, Aunt Mary, Uncle Ruben, Mom (Vesta), Uncle Ed, Uncle Floyd, Aunt June, Aunt Lee, Grandma (Effie) and Grandpa (Lee).


Heavenly Father, thank You for the wonderful memories of my Aunt Mary. Be with my cousins and their families right now during this hard time of loss. Help them remember always that she earned her crowns in Heaven and that she is rejoicing now. Home where she belongs. Be with my own family as we process yet another loss, knowing that death is very much a part of life. I pray all things in Jesus Name - AMEN

10 views5 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page