top of page

Hedge of Protection

What a perfect verse. How nay times over the course of a lifetime have we (Me) (you) prayed for protection for ourselves or someone else. I do it often.


Psalm 121:7-8 (New International Version) The Lord will keep you from all harm— he will watch over your life; the Lord will watch over your coming and going both now and forevermore.



I had already been praying for protection for myself, my family, my friends then an incident happened. Now I want to tell this story correctly. I fear, though, some pretty fierce emotion might creep up in here. Here goes…


A bit ago my daughter took her children out for a nice dinner and a local burger place, this place is cool because while there are food issues (gluten, dairy) with some members of the family (and this burger place caters to those) so going here is a good thing. Top that off with the fact that it has a little play area in the back for the littles. So I imaging a dinner which would be rushed – along with some staring at the playground by my grandchildren – in a huge hurry to get out there and play.


After dinner it’s time and here we go off to the playground. After a bit my daughter says she is watching my grandson – for clarification – he is in terms of size – larger than my granddaughter at his age – he is 2 in July, but he is still a baby, little boy, so watching him and he is approached by two older boys who proceed to yank his arm. Grandson did nothing to provoke and nothing after but get upset. A bit more time passes and the same two boys corner him in the play structure and one of them punches him in the stomach, out of the blue, no reason.



Now I need to stop here. My grandson can say words but typically he can’t make a complete sentence unless it’s a rare occasion. He pieces words together so you understand but I am very sure he wasn’t being ugly to these boys, what they did was unprovoked and very rude. My opinion.


After my daughter told me this I had a variety of emotions. Why, why would these boys just target him ,he is not a mean child, he just wanted to play – like them. I was angry at them, at their parents for not intervening when they pulled his arm. What are the parents doing and not doing for these boys to think it’s ok to treat someone this way. I just had big emotions over it. I finally came to the conclusion that all I can do is ask God to protect them. I know their parents will do all the can to create and maintain a safe environment too.



So for now I am asking God to created a hedge of Protection around my grands. To keep ugly like this from reaching them. that they experience love and not hate. Even my grand daughter was upset. Nobody should be mean to my brother. That part was actually cute.

So sometimes when you can’t be there. Pray that protection for them. God hears.


Heavenly Father, I just renew my prayers for Your protection over my grandchildren, my children, my self, my family and my friends. Keep the angry, ugly and hostile away please. let the love and great things in. I ask all this in Jesus Name – I thank You for this protection. Amen



7 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page