top of page

Grappling

Ever heard of a grappling hook? It is used to dredge up things submerged. Drags along the bottom and pulls up things from the bottom of the watery area like a lake or pond.


Do you ever feel like that hook… dragging along bottom. Just dragging and dredging up stuff and dragging, just dragging. Feeling heavy and weighted down. You are not alone friend. Everyone experiences down times. It’s part of life and I’m telling you I have down days too. Sometimes two in a row which really bugs me too. I have learned over the years that me and down days don’t really get along.


Proverbs 27:16 … like restraining the wind or grasping oil with the hand.


Right now things in my world are a bit chaotic. I have nothing earth shattering going on just many things that require my attention. Then add to the mix that multiple people are involved so you have a collection of personalities all mixed in there and it gets even more chaotic. To the point sometimes it feels all heavy and weighed down. Cumbersome and un-moving. Felt like this? Take heart and read on...



Psalm 31:10 My life is consumed by anguish and my years by groaning; my strength fails because of my affliction, and my bones grow weak.


This sounds super depressing huh? Let me say this. Down days happen, we can’t stop them, we can be as up and positive as we can be and sad or bad things still happen. We can set ourselves up for a fail if we think negative things won’t affect us or find us. At a time when you get strong in your faith, you feel invincible, the enemy will strike and make attempts to bring you down…down to the dredge, down to the dragging, depths. He will keep you there too, that is his ultimate goal you know. To stop you and attack you. To harm you and hinder you. To keep you as far from Jesus as possible.


He uses tools. You know that grappling hook I know it’s not a bad tool but it sure looks like something the enemy would use I tell you. Kind of looks ugly and scary.


We need to be real, this tool is just a tool, it’s not a torture device and it was not made for harm. It’s all in how you look at it. It’s really probably very handy to have if you do much underwater seeking. I think in early times they used it to recover and repair underwater line or pipe. I am sure it works great for that application. See not bad at all


So your outlook is the same. Am I – are you – going to view the current situation with downtrodden eyes and a dragged down perspective or are we going to stand firm in God’s promises.


“Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid or terrified because of them, for the LORD your God goes with you; he will never leave you or forsake you” (Deuteronomy 31:6)


God says NEVER LEAVE YOU here, do you read that and get it? That means God is with you even if you don’t feel him or hear Him. He is ALWAYS, that means 24/7 …365…forever.


My situation, your situation may look daunting right now but take a breath. Breathe IN and remember God is there…breathe OUT and know that He is in your corner. If you don’t feel the immediate peace…breathe a bit more but keep remembering … God is on YOUR side.


Dear Heavenly Father,


I am so grateful You are always here for us. That You are ever in our corner. Always beside us in good times and bad. Please keep reminding us of this especially in times of trial. I ask this in Jesus Name - Amen


7 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page