top of page

Freedom – The Lion and the Lamb


Today as I was sitting her thinking about my struggles with health, it struck me… I WANT to dance again. I want to walk a long distance with my grandbabies, I want so many things that don’t include crappy knees. I want so many things that don’t include taking pills or shots to maintain. I came to this…conclusion…


I have a lions heart – and – a lambs body (fragile)



Lion and the Lamb are symbolistic in the Bible: In Revelation 5, the lion and the lamb come together in a new way. They are both symbols of Christ. The Messiah is first introduced in verse 5 as the Lion of Judah, a reference to Genesis 49:9 when Jacob is blessing his twelve sons. It seems to be clear that this Lion is the Christ by calling Him the root of David (Isaiah 11:1). After being hailed as a lion, surprisingly, Peter turns and sees a Lamb standing as if he had been slaughtered. This is clearly Jesus (John 1:29). That the powerful Lion and the meek, sacrificial Lamb can both refer to the Lord Jesus Christ seems contradictory. The attributes of God often are contradictory. He is both transcendent and near. He is just and merciful. He is three and yet one. Jesus as a Lamb embodies why Christ came in His first coming: to die for the sins of the world. Jesus as a Lion symbolizes why Christ will come again in His second coming: to judge the sins of the world. Praise God that those who have been purchased by His blood will not receive the judgment that we deserve!



The title to my devotional today starts with Freedom. Recently I’ve been working on my own Vision Board, this is something of a work in progress but the gist of it is to put things that you want to achieve, things you want to do (pray more, vacation, worship more, a new car), things you want to have, things you need, etc. For mine I included my word for 2023, I don’t make resolutions rather I pick a word and find some good meaning to that word and live out my meaning for this word that year. This year is “Freedom”. I want to be free from so many things this year including health issues, bad knees, debt, stress, fear, and so on and so on. You get the point so my devotional is about my year and how I feel right this moment.

If you want to know the truth, I am really pretty ticked off about the lamb part. I want to be a lion with a lion heart and a lion (strong) body, able to dance around and be joyous. My determine efforts this year will be to get to the health I want and need, to work on fixing my knees. There are so many more things I want to do this year but these are my top two.

My Lion heart is ready for the challenge and ready for the fight to get to where I need to be.



I will not let Satan get in my head or mess me up. Oh he will try no doubt but he will not win. I’m just say’n.


John 14:13 NIV 13 And I will do whatever you ask in my name, so that the Father may be glorified in the Son.



Dear Jesus, You have said that all things asked in Your name that You will do it. Well - I am asking for Your help to get healthy and fix my knees. I also ask in Your name for the health of those reading this. Be with us, our doctors, any caregivers, surgeons, nurses and anyone else who has a hand in our health, help them and us fight that fight with the Lion heart to get all the way good. I thank You in advance - AMEN


12 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page