top of page

Divine Appointment

I have had a few Diving Appointments myself. Times when God was clearly leading me to do or say something. Most of them have been somewhat comfortable and some have put me way outside my comfort zone. I think that is intentional. God wants our obedience.


My first instance was really hard and I pretty much spent two weeks telling God – no. I was not trying to be defiant, I felt like what He was asking would be looked at negatively by others around me. Complicated story but trust me when I say this. God certainly knew what He was doing and of course I was wrong. I eventually said “Ok God, I’ll do it”. So what is a divine appointment you ask…


Divine appointments are Spirit-led meetings that give us the opportunity to be used in God’s service for the advancement of His Kingdom. A great example is Philip, who was told he should go down towards Gaza into the desert. At first, this is all the information God gave him. Holy Spirit didn’t feel necessary to explain. He just expected obedience. After he did obey God spoke to him again and told him to join Ethiopian eunuchs chariot.



Acts 8: 26-50 Philip and the Ethiopian 26 Now an angel of the Lord said to Philip, “Go south to the road—the desert road—that goes down from Jerusalem to Gaza.” 27 So he started out, and on his way he met an Ethiopian[a] eunuch, an important official in charge of all the treasury of the Kandake (which means “queen of the Ethiopians”). This man had gone to Jerusalem to worship, 28 and on his way home was sitting in his chariot reading the Book of Isaiah the prophet. 29 The Spirit told Philip, “Go to that chariot and stay near it.” 30 Then Philip ran up to the chariot and heard the man reading Isaiah the prophet. “Do you understand what you are reading?” Philip asked. 31 “How can I,” he said, “unless someone explains it to me?” So he invited Philip to come up and sit with him. 32 This is the passage of Scripture the eunuch was reading: “He was led like a sheep to the slaughter, and as a lamb before its shearer is silent, so he did not open his mouth. 33 In his humiliation he was deprived of justice. Who can speak of his descendants? For his life was taken from the earth.” 34 The eunuch asked Philip, “Tell me, please, who is the prophet talking about, himself or someone else?” 35 Then Philip began with that very passage of Scripture and told him the good news about Jesus. 36 As they traveled along the road, they came to some water and the eunuch said, “Look, here is water. What can stand in the way of my being baptized?” [37]] 38 And he gave orders to stop the chariot. Then both Philip and the eunuch went down into the water and Philip baptized him. 39 When they came up out of the water, the Spirit of the Lord suddenly took Philip away, and the eunuch did not see him again, but went on his way rejoicing. 40 Philip, however, appeared at Azotus and traveled about, preaching the gospel in all the towns until he reached Caesarea.


Pretty good huh. Just doing what God is pushing you to do. Why – because there is so much hate in the world right now, there is so much me..me..me.. what “I” want, what “I” need, What “I” think… most important. People saying things to others that tear them down rather than build them up. it’s sad really. Think of it (your God nudges) as a moral compass, leading you down the right path. Be grateful for it, listen to it, cherish it. Honor God with your response.


My daughter called me this morning to tell me about a Divine Appointment she had yesterday. She was fighting the nudge but eventually she let go and let God lead her. She spoke to a stranger and actually talked to him. She told him that God loved him and explained the nudge in hopes this man would not think her crazy. He actually responded well and appreciated her efforts. My heart swells with pride over this appointment. I have known for 20 years now that this child had a good Godly soul and that she would walk out her faith in mighty ways. What a great testimony to my grandchildren for them to see their Mommy offering kind words and support to a stranger in need (being the hands and feet of Jesus in human form). She is a shining example of how I want my Grandchildren to be. I am thankful that God brought this Diving Appointment to her. I’m thankful she listened and acted on it. Proud Momma moment. More than that - proud, beyond proud moment. that's an understatement. I think if I didn't have skin my heart would pound out of my chest with proudness for my girl. She's the best



Dear Lord,

Gosh I am grateful – grateful for Your divine appointments, grateful for my daughters willing heart, grateful for the mans understanding. Grateful for my grandchildren to witness this and know God is good and being kind, loving and generous with your words, your time and your attention is the best way to go. Thank You, Thank You, Thank You - AMEN


14 views4 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page