top of page

Baptized and Baptized

When you think about baptism, what does that look like? I know when I was younger I thought sprinkle was the way to have it done. I also remember when I was really small seeing my older sister get baptized and I remember thinking they were drowning her (it was one of those baptismal in the wall like a huge fish tank). I never gave much more thought to it until I really began attending church regularly. Pastor spoke about Baptism frequently. He called it Liquid Swagger which as goofy as that sounds it really is fun and right on. I also learned that full emersion is the proper way – just like Jesus did – to be baptized. Why, well because when you go under you are one person and as you go down and then rise back up you are a NEW CREATION, you are clean.



Matthew 3:16-17 16 As soon as Jesus was baptized, he went up out of the water. At that moment heaven was opened, and he saw the Spirit of God descending like a dove and alighting on him. 17 And a voice from heaven said, “This is my Son, whom I love; with him I am well pleased.”


Years ago I had a friend who was raised Catholic so she was sprinkled. We were all discussing baptism and I happened to have some notes regarding Baptism. My notes said – and I told her – Baptism is not something you do when you are spiritually mature, it is simply an outward reflection of your faith. That you have faith and you are obedient to God. After this discussion she made an appointment to get baptized. This day came and our hometeam was volunteering away from Church so as fast as I could after the volunteering I and the rest of us raced over to the Church to witness her baptism. Lots of witnesses and lots of joy. It was a GREAT day! I still remember my own baptism – November 16, 2003 along with my daughter – again a GREAT day!



3,000 were baptized on Pentecost Sunday after hearing one Christian sermon (all were pretty devout Jews, so they had been trying to follow faith as the Rabbis explained the Hebrew Scriptures) [chapter 2] See - they heard ONE sermon and got baptized.


Matthew 28:18–20 And Jesus came and said to them, “All authority in heaven and on earth has been given to me. Go therefore and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, teaching them to observe all that I have commanded you. And behold, I am with you always, to the end of the age.”

When my friend got baptized it was eighteen years ago. I was honored to be a witness to her gaining that liquid swagger! Over the years things have happened and some of them have not been so terrific for her for me for our group of friends. One thing has remained. All of us are still God loving folks. That said she is going to be baptized again next weekend. She is looking at it as a renewal. Renewing, refreshing, regeneration of faith. I love this idea and pray I can be there to witness it again!


Romans 6:4 NIV 4 We were therefore buried with him through baptism into death in order that, just as Christ was raised from the dead through the glory of the Father, we too may live a new life.



Romans 12:2 And do not be conformed to this world [any longer with its superficial values and customs], but be transformed and progressively changed [as you mature spiritually] by the renewing of your mind [focusing on godly values and ethical attitudes], so that you may prove [for yourselves] what the will of God is, that which is good and acceptable and perfect [in His plan and purpose for you].


Matthew 11:29 Take My yoke upon you and learn from Me [following Me as My disciple], for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest (renewal, blessed quiet) for your souls.



I believe God is telling her to renew. I am grateful for her renewal. This will be a wonderful time of celebration for her to re-become a new creation.



Dear Heavenly Father,

Thank You for the gift of salvation. Thank You for Baptism and its meaning and cleansing. Lord, please bless my friend in her renewal and give her super charged reFAITH, giving her all to You. I ask these things in Jesus Name – AMEN.

18 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page