top of page

After You Have Suffered a Little While

Talking to someone who has known me for years, the conversation went to myself and some things I’ve been through these last few years. Then we went to my lifetime and this person said, “You’ve really been through some stuff, a virtual crap-storm and I’m not sure how you have weathered all the storm you’ve been through”. Truthfully, there are times I resent the trials, times when I feel like enough is enough and why me. This was not a short simple conversation. We discussed some of the things I’ve been through and honestly hearing this person tell my story through her eyes was rather eye opening. After it was over I had some time to really consider this.



1 Peter 5:8-11 8 Be alert and of sober mind. Your enemy the devil prowls around like a roaring lion looking for someone to devour. 9 Resist him, standing firm in the faith, because you know that the family of believers throughout the world is undergoing the same kind of sufferings. 10 And the God of all grace, who called you to his eternal glory in Christ, after you have suffered a little while, will himself restore you and make you strong, firm and steadfast. 11 To him be the power for ever and ever. Amen


Your enemy the devil prowls around like a roaring lion looking for someone to devour. Well that is a true statement and I’ve said many times over the years… The enemy does not fight fair, he will kick you while you’re down. I think that’s why some suffering is more substantial than others. I’ve also said, the enemy goes fast and furious at those who are “big fish” in the kingdom of God, what I mean by that is that someone who is a faith filled person, who is on fire for Jesus and walking the walk is a big target for the enemy. Now I’m not saying I’m a big fish, I do love me some Jesus. This kind of warfare really annoys me.


Am I bitter? Do I resent the attacks? Am I sad about these attacks? Sometimes, is the answer. I have to be brutally honest and say that yes – there are times when I do resent and get upset over them. The truth is that I’m honestly for the most part not upset or angry about them. I will repeat one of the best scriptures I’ve ever read because it speaks exactly to the way I feel about trials.


James 1:2-4 2 Consider it pure joy, my brothers and sisters, whenever you face trials of many kinds, 3 because you know that the testing of your faith produces perseverance. 4 Let perseverance finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything.

I didn’t always believe in this scripture, honestly it took me a while to get to where I am now, where I believe in this. I think people have to go through things in order to be able to get through more, there is one more thing. Look at the scripture – testing of your faith produces perseverance.



What does the enemy want? Is there something so significant in the next stage of your (my) life and you (me) can’t see it but maybe the enemy has a vision for your (my) life, that you (I) don’t and if it comes forth, if it ever gets light it’s gonna spread out and bear fruit and change the world. So that may be why the enemy is attacking you (me). Just think about it…


My response to this conversation when it was at the end was this, I believe that God let me have these trails and tests so that I could be prepared for something more. I believe He is allowing me to be tested so that I can turn around and help someone else who might need my words, my story or my help to work past some things that I have experience with, so I am a word of wisdom or comfort. Oh I can only hope and pray that this is the reason. I do believe it is why. This is my response, what is yours?


You know, the old saying “God never allows us to go through more than we can handle” funny enough this is not from the Bible. There is a scripture close “God is faithful; he will not allow you to be tempted beyond what you are able” (1 Corinthians 10:13 CSB).


Do you see the resemblance between this verse and the phrase? God is faithful, He is with you, and He won’t give you more than you can handle, right?


Nope.


While this verse does say that God is faithful and that He is with us, it doesn’t say that He’ll never give us more than we can handle. It says that we won’t be tempted beyond what we are able, and then later on in the verse, it goes on to say that “with the temptation God will also provide the way out so that you may be able to bear it.” But it doesn’t say that God will never give us more than we can handle.


Here Is The Truth


Following Jesus and living a life free from idols and the entanglements of this world is not a guarantee to a pain-free life. He never promised us a life without suffering, trial, or temptations. In fact, this verse here is saying the opposite. It’s saying that there will always be suffering, trial, temptations, pain, and situations that we won’t be able to handle on our own.


But when suffering and trials come — not if, but when — as followers of Christ, God promises to always be with us because He is faithful. And my addition to this is that there is a purpose. He has a reason. The reason may not be about you but about who you can help. God is always thinking about ALL His children and how to help and sustain all of us.


How can I help His children? Be faithful and intentional about helping others. Be grateful that I have trials and temptations. Be grateful that God will use me through them and past them. He will make a way for all to be of use. Be open to be used and share with others in effort to help and heal.



Dear Heavenly Father, This one simple prayer – Us me – use us. Let us use all the good and all the not good and all the in between for Your glory. We pray in Jesus Name - AMEN



14 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page