top of page

A Little Easter...before Easter

What is the meaning of Easter? I can tell you what it is not about or I should say the symbolism of Easter is not about a bunny, hunting eggs and dressing up fancy to go out to eat. Easter is a celebration – no doubt about that.



So as I am thinking – what does Easter mean I also think about what does Easter mean to my Granddaughter, what should it mean to her? Hmmm – how should she consider Easter. What does Easter mean? What should it mean? I have no problem with the cute outfits, hunting eggs and a fun gift or the Easter Bunny… I just want Jesus to be priority and first on our minds and hearts for Easter. First in her mind. She LOVES church and going to her own age group. She talks about loving Jesus. I’m so grateful for that. I’ve been dreaming of hearing those words for many years now. I love Jesus Nonnie, He loves me. I have heard her say “I love Jesus” and I tell you my heart almost just stopped. It was all I could do not to fall apart crying. Generations backwards - my Mom, My Grandma Effie..I know that I know they would all be so proud to hear these words too. I know they ARE proud.


Be prepared this one will be long. Easter is so important that it needs to be long - in order to tell the story right.


So – the set up – Jesus was in the garden praying, He was arrested, He was tried and condemned even though Pilot could see He had done nothing wrong. Still they shouted to crucify him. So Pilot had him whipped and that was no small thing – he was beaten so bloody, the flogging tore portions of his skin down to the bone. They fashioned a crown of thorns which dug in his flesh and gave him over to be crucified. Nailed to a cross. I won’t get any more graphic but if you want as real as it gets watch the movie – The Passion of the Christ. This movie brings this whole thing home. It’s a gut punch to say the very least. So obviously Jesus dies on the cross. You can read it as many times as you want but seeing it on a big screen just really makes you feel like you are there. It was heartbreaking for me. At the same time I was floored by what Jesus did on that cross. He started the Easter story.



John 19: 38-42 The Burial of Jesus 38 Afterward Joseph of Arimathea, who had been a secret disciple of Jesus (because he feared the Jewish leaders), asked Pilate for permission to take down Jesus’ body. When Pilate gave permission, Joseph came and took the body away. 39 With him came Nicodemus, the man who had come to Jesus at night. He brought about seventy-five pounds[k] of perfumed ointment made from myrrh and aloes. 40 Following Jewish burial custom, they wrapped Jesus’ body with the spices in long sheets of linen cloth. 41 The place of crucifixion was near a garden, where there was a new tomb, never used before. 42 And so, because it was the day of preparation for the Jewish Passover[l] and since the tomb was close at hand, they laid Jesus there


1 Corinthians 15:3-8 NLT 3 I passed on to you what was most important and what had also been passed on to me. Christ died for our sins, just as the Scriptures said. 4 He was buried, and he was raised from the dead on the third day, just as the Scriptures said. 5 He was seen by Peter and then by the Twelve. 6 After that, he was seen by more than 500 of his followers at one time, most of whom are still alive, though some have died. 7 Then he was seen by James and later by all the apostles. 8 Last of all, as though I had been born at the wrong time, I also saw him. (This is Paul speaking)


John 20: 30-31 Purpose of the Book 30 The disciples saw Jesus do many other miraculous signs in addition to the ones recorded in this book. 31 But these are written so that you may continue to believe that Jesus is the Messiah, the Son of God, and that by believing in him you will have life by the power of his name.


So now to explain some. The day of Crucifixion was Good Friday and we have Good Friday the few days before Easter Sunday every year. He rose on the 3rd day which is Easter Sunday. So now you know – Easter is about Jesus resurrection. It is about an EMPTY tomb.



John 20: 19-23 Suddenly, Jesus was standing there among them! “Peace be with you,” he said. 20 As he spoke, he showed them the wounds in his hands and his side. They were filled with joy when they saw the Lord! 21 Again he said, “Peace be with you. As the Father has sent me, so I am sending you.” 22 Then he breathed on them and said, “Receive the Holy Spirit. 23 If you forgive anyone’s sins, they are forgiven. If you do not forgive them, they are not forgiven.”


If you read the Gospels (Matthew, Mark, Luke and John) you will see different perspectives of the same events in Jesus life– some focused on them more than others. One thing is for sure, the disciples (the 12) did not always understand Jesus teachings. When He spoke of dying and coming back they really did not understand. Now that Jesus died and has come back (as above John 20) they understand better that Jesus, His life and legacy was to fill His destiny as the Messiah. He had to preach and teach, He had to be beaten, crucified and die. He had to rise again.


Why? For the sins – yours, mine and ours from beginning of time to now and future. He took on those sins and died for them so they could be washed away by His precious blood.

That – is what Easter means. #Thankful


Dear Jesus – Thank You just does not seem to even be a speck of the amount of gratitude I feel for Your sacrifice. I am so thankful that You love us (me) so much You gave up Your life so that we may live sin free. Thank You for the resurrection so that we may celebrate Your coming back to show us. I celebrate you for Easter and all the days between. AMEN

17 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page