top of page

A Book by its Cover

2 Corinthians 13:11 11 Dear brothers and sisters, I close my letter with these last words: Be joyful. Grow to maturity. Encourage each other. Live in harmony and peace. Then the God of love and peace will be with you.


Never judge a book by its cover is a saying first introduced in the 40’s and describes not going with your first thought of someone. Instead to look deeper and see what is really there. Imagine if people would have automatically judged and responded to Paul like that. We would have so much less of the Bible for sure. Of the 27 books in the New Testament, 13 or 14 are traditionally attributed to Paul. The words above and below are written in letters by Paul. In the beginning Paul was Saul of Tarsus and was a deeply religious man. So much so that he persecuted Jewish people because his faith told him they were wrong. Then he had a marvelous change of heart and chose to follow Jesus ministry. He preached and wrote to the early churches. I find Paul so interesting. What turmoil did he fight within himself after finding his faith in Jesus. How must he have felt about all he had done before. The thing is this – when he gave his life to Christ and became his follower – he is and was FORGIVEN. The same as you and me. I mean think about it. we’ve all done things we are not proud of but God forgives us. Not that we won’t be held accountable, for sure that will happen – oh but the after party will be so terrific.



Galatians 1:13-20 13 You know what I was like when I followed the Jewish religion—how I violently persecuted God’s church. I did my best to destroy it. 14 I was far ahead of my fellow Jews in my zeal for the traditions of my ancestors. 15 But even before I was born, God chose me and called me by his marvelous grace. Then it pleased him 16 to reveal his Son to me so that I would proclaim the Good News about Jesus to the Gentiles. When this happened, I did not rush out to consult with any human being 17 Nor did I go up to Jerusalem to consult with those who were apostles before I was. Instead, I went away into Arabia, and later I returned to the city of Damascus. 18 Then three years later I went to Jerusalem to get to know Peter, and I stayed with him for fifteen days. 19 The only other apostle I met at that time was James, the Lord’s brother. 20 I declare before God that what I am writing to you is not a lie.


So if you believe in softening of his heart Paul made a miraculous turn about in his faith and wanted nothing more than to spread the “good news of Jesus”. You think if God can change the mind of a hell-bent man on a mission then turn him in to a great profit for His glory, he used Paul so many times and people listened, that He can use you as well?



Just think of all the great parts of the Bible we would never have, the resonating thoughts and words without Paul’s great faith.


I will tell you this, I knew that some day my parents would pass. We all die, nobody gets a free pass on it. I thought I’d be a complete and utter basket case when the time came. Being as close to her as us girls were. Just seemed like you might as well dig a few extra holes for us too (My sisters and I). I tell you the truth, if I had not had faith I think this would have been completely true. The thing that got me through is faith, family and friends. Knowing Mom was in Heaven celebrating and not in pain, able to eat and enjoy it. Doing a puzzle or just chatting with family.


Another thing that gave me comfort is knowing that my faith tells me I will see Mom again. I once heard a lady describe a vivid dream she had, she was convinced it was a vision from God. When she got to Heaven there was a table set up as long as the eye could see and there sitting at the table was her family, including children she had lost to miscarriage, she ate lunch with them all that day. I love the image this conjures up and I look forward to sitting down to lunch with my Mom, my Grandparents and all those who have gone ahead of me.



Dear Heavenly Father – Thank You for Heaven and what we have to look forward to. Thank You for giving those who have gone ahead a glorious place to be and something wonderful for us to look forward to. Thank You for peace here on earth. In Jesus Name I pray Amen


10 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page