top of page

Rest

There are different “rest” periods in our lives. I am a firm believer in rest while you are sick. That restorative rest helps you heal and get better faster. I am also a fan – I come by it honestly too – of naps. Oh the great feeling of waking from a nice nap especially after a long work week. A lovely afternoon nap is just the ticket sometimes. My Mom was a napper – actually she was a queen napper. It’s funny because we teased her all the time about watching a movie, she never ever got through one. We put it on and get the popcorn, in to the movie about 15 minutes and look over to see her snoozing. She had this chair is was a chaise and it was so comfortable that she would get all set and “out”, all she needed was a little blanket and off she went in to nappy time. I loved that chair and seeing her in it so much that when I looked at furniture for my apartment I looked for and bought a chaise to match my couch. Nappy chair!



Matthew 11:28-30 NLT 28 Then Jesus said, “Come to me, all of you who are weary and carry heavy burdens, and I will give you rest. 29 Take my yoke upon you. Let me teach you, because I am humble and gentle at heart, and you will find rest for your souls. 30 For my yoke is easy to bear, and the burden I give you is light.”


Do you need rest today? Are you burdened? Are you carrying some “heavy” in your life right now? Jesus asks us in this passage to take on His yoke. While others turn to God for relief and refuge, some distance from God. It is very essential for us to see and know God and see Him as our protector and comforter. A God who listens to us when we call on Him; who shows mercy and compassion when we are in despair; and who gives strength when we are tired. He is our only hope, our salvation. That is why we have to know our God and establish a good relationship with Him through prayer.



Jesus is sent by God so that everything will come into fulfillment. The promise of salvation of the God is completed in Jesus. He has entrusted everyone and everything to Jesus and by His coming, our severed relationship with God is now restored. Through Jesus, the love of God has been manifested concretely among his disciples and to the world. His dying and rising from the dead had summarized it all the love of God.


Following Jesus does not guarantee that there will be no more suffering, pain, and injustice. This is why following the Lord means taking one’s yoke and expecting that life will be burdensome—but there will be rest. God will give us rest so we can carry on with life.

Take heart friends, find rest in Jesus. He wants us to cast our cares, worries and burdens on Him. He wants to be our help and our comfort. God knew we would not have Heaven on Earth – just one more reason He sent Jesus.


I think of rest right now because I had some kind of cough with congestion thing and it’s been lingering for three weeks now. I know it hung around because I was not able to rest well. That good restorative sleep just was not happening for me during this time. Now that I am able to sleep without sitting straight up it’s going away much faster. Thankful for REST!



Dear Heavenly Father, thank You for rest. Thank You for letting us take Your Yoke and rest. I ask You to bless those reading this. Give them Your Rest and an easy day today. I thank You and ask all in Jesus Name - AMEN


14 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page