top of page

Rare

(Sidenote: it's been a long time, many things going on at years end last year. Sorry for not posting more. Will try this year to do better. Praying all you readers are well)






What does it mean to be rare? Uncommon, distinctive, extraordinary, exceptional, unique, remarkable. These are good adjectives to describe rare I think. Are YOU rare? I think we are all rare in our own ways, because we are “one offs” we are all individual and made to order. Oh some of us may look alike or even act alike but we are all very unique.


Are you set apart? Remarkable? What does that mean? If you wanted to be the epitome of Rare what would that look like? For me when I think about rare, set apart or remarkable it takes me to Proverbs 31. Depending on which version of the Bible you are using the title to this section is different; The Wife of a Noble Character (NIV), The Woman of Fears the Lord (ESV), Hymn to a Good Woman (MSG),  A Wife of Noble Character (NLT).  Either way this passage describes a woman I venture to believe many women would strive to be. To be view by others this way would be wonderful, I think anyway.



Proverbs 31: 10-31 MSG   Hymn to a Good Wife   10-31 A good woman is hard to find, and worth far more than diamonds. Her husband trusts her without reserve, and never has reason to regret it. Never spiteful, she treats him generously all her life long. She shops around for the best yarns and cottons, and enjoys knitting and sewing. She’s like a trading ship that sails to faraway places and brings back exotic surprises. She’s up before dawn, preparing breakfast for her family and organizing her day. She looks over a field and buys it, then, with money she’s put aside, plants a garden. First thing in the morning, she dresses for work, rolls up her sleeves, eager to get started. She senses the worth of her work, is in no hurry to call it quits for the day. She’s skilled in the crafts of home and hearth, diligent in homemaking. She’s quick to assist anyone in need, reaches out to help the poor. She doesn’t worry about her family when it snows; their winter clothes are all mended and ready to wear. She makes her own clothing, and dresses in colorful linens and silks. Her husband is greatly respected when he deliberates with the city fathers. She designs gowns and sells them, brings the sweaters she knits to the dress shops. Her clothes are well-made and elegant, and she always faces tomorrow with a smile. When she speaks she has something worthwhile to say, and she always says it kindly. She keeps an eye on everyone in her household, and keeps them all busy and productive. Her children respect and bless her; her husband joins in with words of praise: “Many women have done wonderful things, but you’ve outclassed them all!” Charm can mislead and beauty soon fades.  The woman to be admired and praised is the woman who lives in the Fear-of-God. Give her everything she deserves!  Adorn her life with praises!



Again, I totally believe we are all unique in our own way which is beautiful. I celebrate our uniqueness. For me I would love to be thought of in the way they describe this woman above.  I would love to be this kind of woman, doing and being all of these. I know I for sure fall short, I know I need to work on some of my parts to be better. A work in progress.

 

2023 brought many new things to me, many I am ok with some I never wanted but have to live with. At the beginning of last year I had such high hopes of getting my health in a better place and it seems I had to go backwards before I get to move forward. I’m truly trying to look at this as something I needed to experience in order to get me to the next level or place. My great hope is that this year I will see some breakthrough.


I want to be this person who can serve others. That’s always been who I am. I just never thought I would be sidelined like I am. I’ve said it before, I used to dance – I danced a lot and I want very much to dance again. I’m setting my mind to that this year.



Dear Heavenly Father, I know I am not the only one in this position of want and need. I know there are others out there, maybe reading this that have needs as well. I come to You asking in the mighty name of Jesus to bring us back to a place where we can do the things we need to – want to. Bring healing and health, bring joy, prosperity. I thank You and pray all in Jesus Name - AMEN


12 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page