top of page

When it’s Time to Pray

So - do and say the right thing. Be the best version of you. Do your best and leave the results up to God. Leave this world a better place than you found it. All great things to aspire to. What about when things are down, what about when you are worn down and frazzled? What about when you are overworked and under paid? What about when life seems to be folding in on you? Then again – what about on your best day? Days you get a raise? Days you get that pat on the back – atta boy. To all these the answer is – yes. These are the best times to pray.



Have you felt like maybe your prayers just don’t go anywhere? I think we have all felt that at one time or another. The bit below comes from Charles Spurgeon's Morning and Evening and I find it perfect for todays topic.

"Behold, he prayeth." Acts 9:11

Prayers are instantly noticed in heaven. The moment Saul began to pray the Lord heard him. Here is comfort for the distressed but praying soul. Oftentimes a poor broken-hearted one bends his knee, but can only utter his wailing in the language of sighs and tears; yet that groan has made all the harps of heaven thrill with music; that tear has been caught by God and treasured in the lachrymatory of heaven. "Thou puttest my tears into thy bottle," implies that they are caught as they flow.


"Their prayer came up to His holy dwelling place, even unto heaven." 2 Chronicles 30:27


Prayer is the never-failing resort of the Christian in any case, in every plight. When you cannot use your sword you may take to the weapon of all-prayer.


Each of these gives me such a great vision of me on bended knee, weeping because my prayer is so strong I just really want it to be heard, and there is God catching my tears in His bottle. I am so important to God that He stores my tears. My prayers are that important to God. Prayer is my best offense and defense.


Think about this, God knows the desires of your heart and He wants you to pray, He wants to hear from you. Maybe pray more and read less. Pray a different way. Ponder your prayers before you offer them up.


Remember this too…


John 14:13 New Living Translation 13 You can ask for anything in my name, and I will do it, so that the Son can bring glory to the Father.


So what’s your prayer today? Say it now…


AMEN


9 views5 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page