top of page

Trust Me When I Tell You

(one of my older devotionals)

Leviticus 25:17-22 (NIV) 17 Do not take advantage of each other, but fear your God. I am the Lord your God. 18 “‘Follow my decrees and be careful to obey my laws, and you will live safely in the land. 19 Then the land will yield its fruit, and you will eat your fill and live there in safety. 20 You may ask, “What will we eat in the seventh year if we do not plant or harvest our crops?” 21 I will send you such a blessing in the sixth year that the land will yield enough for three years. 22 While you plant during the eighth year, you will eat from the old crop and will continue to eat from it until the harvest of the ninth year comes in.


I’ve been a Mom for 28 years now, Years ago I led a Bible Study group. When I talked to new members I explained that we all have ownership of our group, I also let them know that as we all were single parents that I took on their children too, I wanted to be another set of eyes, another heart to love them, that we were Doing Life Together – we would be a village. This afforded me a new nick name – Momma Bear.


As a Mom / Momma Bear I have caught myself saying over and again, Trust me when I tell you… followed by some sincere thoughts – words of wisdom intended to give the listener some insight to what I saw coming based on what they told me or what I saw. I’ve been there and done that so I want to save those that I care about time, energy and heartache in some cases by giving them a heads up – Trust me when I tell you. All we really want is to save our children from the misery of things we’ve seen. We know.


Just like God was telling His people – Don’t take advantage of each other, fear God, Follow the laws and you’ll be just fine. He pretty much laid it out for them. Like I’ve tried to as well in my words. I get that there are some folks who are the I-have-to-learn-the-hard-way-only types. I’ve certainly been that way but honestly try not to be. Who wants that?


So folks, listen to wise council, what does that look like – here you go - Proverbs 19:20 Listen to advice and accept discipline, and at the end you will be counted among the wise. Psalm 1:1-Seek not counsel from the ungodly. Seek Godly council from those season saints who you know walk with the Lord. And then there are those fun elastic wrist bands from years past…WWJD… What Would Jesus Do…If you stand back and sincerely ask how Jesus would feel about the situation, what would He say, how would He handle that? Your answer will direct your path.


Dear Heavenly Father – I ask on behalf of each person reading this, if this resonates with them please protect them with Your armor, give them a hedge of protection against these errors that You see coming. Let them instead stop and consider, think, see, then seek and listen to wise council. Council that truly have Your best for the person needing it. Thank You for Your guidance and for wise council. Amen

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page