top of page

Treasure

What would you say is your greatest treasure? Really been thinking about treasures lately... For me it has changed over the years. As a little girl I think my treasures were certain toys. I loved my little three wheeler, it was red and white. As a teen, I think my treasures were friendships. As an adult my treasures were possessions until I had my daughter, then family became my greatest treasure. Now that I’m an older – lets just say mature woman – my treasure is for sure my faith and my family.


Matthew 6:21 AMP 21 for where your treasure is, there your heart [your wishes, your desires; that on which your life centers] will be also.



I can easily see how people can treasure a job, money, things like a house full of furniture or such. These are easy idols – treasures. I’m not against having things at all. I have things but I’ve also lost things and while that is not fun it is also in many ways liberating.

When I moved from a 2 bedroom place to a 1 bedroom, I had things that I just decided not to bring. I did not need everything and once I started purging it was like a snowball effect, I kept just getting rid of stuff. All my living room, dining room furniture gone, and I had some furniture too, it ended up being pretty liberating. Then once I moved to the new place there was a flood and I lost quite a bit of my personal things like Photos that were damaged in the flood. It was really sad at the time, I am most upset about some of the photos I can never get back. Good memories but this is not something you can take with you when it’s your time, so I reconciled this too. I have the memories stored in my heart and mind. True, it would have been nice to see the photos every so often, I guess I just need to remember in my heart.

I know what the scripture is talking about – treasure – it is not anything Earthly. It is feelings, love, kindness, faith, all these things are our greatest treasures.


I love my family, family is a big one for me. Every one of them special and wonderful in their own way. I am blessed to have two Dads, lots of siblings, cousins, aunts, uncles, nieces, nephews, my kids and my grandbabies. I am blessed by them and because of them.


Matthew 13:44 The Parables of the Hidden Treasure and the Pearl “The kingdom of heaven is like treasure hidden in a field. When a man found it, he hid it again, and then in his joy went and sold all he had and bought that field.


Exodus 19:5 Now if you obey me fully and keep my covenant, then out of all nations you will be my treasured possession. Although the whole earth is mine,


WE are God’s treasure too.


Deuteronomy 14:2 for you are a people holy to the Lord your God. Out of all the peoples on the face of the earth, the Lord has chosen you to be his treasured possession.



So what is YOUR treasure? Think about that and come up with your answer to what is.

I will say this too – if you are reading this then you are a treasure to me. I so appreciate you taking your time to read my devotionals. As a writer I am more than grateful for you reading. Thank you!!


Dear Heavenly Father, thank You for treasure, thank You for giving us proper perspective about what is and is not treasure. Keep us on the path to always appreciate what our true treasures are. Thank You for being our treasure. In Jesus name - Amen

17 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page