top of page

Throw Off and RUN instead of Struggle

Have you found scriptures that just get you REVVED up? On a spiritual HIGH every time you read it? I have so many favorite scriptures but this one especially recently just gets me excited. I read it and physically feel invigorated. I think for the most part because of its back meaning for me and because of its actual meaning from the Bible. So today I’m going to give this one to you in three different versions so you can see the difference. Starting with NIV. Yesterday in my pocket Bible this one was highlighted.


Hebrews 12:1 NIV 12 Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles. And let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us



I just was curious about other versions and went looking - let me pause here and give you some guidance if you ever want to do this…


I have many Bible resources, including my Bibles that are bound (softback and hardback) but the two I use most of the time are Bible Gateway and my You Version app on the phone. I’m going to start with Bible Gateway, here is the link https://www.biblegateway.com/passage/?search=hebrews+12%3A1&version=NIV this will take you straight to the scripture above and this version. Once there if you want to see other versions just click on the drop down menu where it says New International Version and pick the one you want then click on the button to the right and your version will show up. You can also put the scripture you want in the left box or key words to look up and it will help you find things. NLT and NIV plus King James are really great always. I like Amplified and The Message too – it really expands on the scripture.


My Bible App on my phone is YouVersion, this will let you read the Bible and different versions, you can highlight and put notes on this app. It’s really terrific and one cool thing is that you have a PLAY button where you can have the verse read to you. this app also has devotionals and reading plans if you’re interested.


Below is the King James version, sounds so eloquent in this version. I especially like – run with patience the race that is set before us.


Hebrews 12:1 King James Version 12 Wherefore seeing we also are compassed about with so great a cloud of witnesses, let us lay aside every weight, and the sin which doth so easily beset us, and let us run with patience the race that is set before us


And now the message version – this one really expands. I love so many parts of this one. Strip down, start running—and never quit! Keep your eyes on Jesus, who both began and finished this race we’re in. he could put up with anything along the way: Cross, shame, whatever. And now he’s there, in the place of honor, right alongside God.


Hebrews 12:1-3 The Message Discipline in a Long-Distance Race 12 1-3 Do you see what this means—all these pioneers who blazed the way, all these veterans cheering us on? It means we’d better get on with it. Strip down, start running—and never quit! No extra spiritual fat, no parasitic sins. Keep your eyes on Jesus, who both began and finished this race we’re in. Study how he did it. Because he never lost sight of where he was headed—that exhilarating finish in and with God—he could put up with anything along the way: Cross, shame, whatever. And now he’s there, in the place of honor, right alongside God. When you find yourselves flagging in your faith, go over that story again, item by item, that long litany of hostility he plowed through. That will shoot adrenaline into your souls!


Let’s face it pretty much since March 2020 our world has been turned upside down and back again. I don’t think there is anyone that has not been affected in some way by everything going on. I’ve been saddened to see businesses close, jobs cut and lost, people finding themselves in situations they had to really stretch to overcome. Just prior to this whole thing I made a decision to move in to a smaller apartment along with making some drastic changes for me. I felt like these changes were necessary for me to move forward. I felt like I was in a huge rut that felt like a never ending circle. You know kind of like the hamster wheel. He gets in and runs and runs and runs more – never going anywhere but in circles. Nothing felt in gear in my life at this time, nothing. Just sensed I was falling down in a pit of despair that I might never be able to climb out of. Changes needed to happen.



So I was downsizing and I knew I could not keep everything I had so I cleaned house. I literally got rid of all my furniture except my bedroom. I was starting over fresh. It was hard to get rid of all of it (I had collected my things for years and was emotionally tied to much of it) but in the end I kept thinking about this scripture - let us throw off everything that hinders, And let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us. I needed to shed what was old. None of the furniture was super fancy and only 1 piece I had was brand new when I got it. I kept thinking NEW BEGINNING, fresh start. All that “stuff” was baggage so I let it go. This was not easy but as time went on and I kept praying for this fresh start things became easier. After I moved I had a flood which ruined more of the items I brought with me and that really stung – honestly I was mad about this because I had already “lost” so much. I kept thinking God wants me to understand here that these things are just things – something is more important than these possessions.


The Next part I want to cover is - let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us. Keep your eyes on Jesus, who both began and finished this race we’re in. Study how he did it. Because he never lost sight of where he was headed. Sometimes when we are in the thick of it – like the days we are seeing now – it’s tough to focus on the good. its tough without reminders. This verse is a fantastic reminder. Jesus kept his eyes on the prize. He knew what He was in for and He walked towards it instead of running and hiding. Jesus lived a sin free life for thirty-three years. He faced more strife and struggle in the last three years than most people ever see. Cross, shame, beaten, denied by his followers. Completely deceived and sold out by one of his most trusted apostles.


No matter how many times it takes, we just have to keep running this race, when hurdles get in the way. Stop – remember Jesus. Stop – Pray for peace, pray for discernment on how to get over this hurdle and then just sit back and watch how God will work it out for the best. Once you’ve prayed be sure you remember – now God heard and He is ON THE JOB.

I feel like I’m watching a war movie sometimes with everything going on like it has these months. Sometimes it just does not feel real anymore. Then there are days when it feels all too real. I know there are some out there really struggling today maybe mentally, maybe physically, maybe financially. For you who are struggling, I promise God has not forgotten you and neither have I.



Dear Heavenly Father, Thank You for Jesus and His example life. Today I ask that those out there reading this understand that You are always available, You are always on the job and You are always doing what is Your best for us. Sometimes we don’t hear Your word or see Your work and in those time please just keep us at peace to remember Your Will – not ours. I ask You in Jesus name to bless those who are struggling, please be with them and let them feel Your presence so they can run the race, doing so in Your honor. Lastly I ask You to bless each person reading this and the family they represent. Bring Love, peace, finances and good health on them all. In Jesus Name – Amen.



17 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page