top of page

They Are Getting Married – Mr. and Mrs. B.


Over the weekend I was asked to write a scripture or highlight it for a sweet couple who will be getting married in a little less than a month. Considering that there are so many good scriptures for this I was kind of stumped to know which one. Then this one came up in my mind. Just a good reminder. Seemed to fit the moment.


Ecclesiastes 4:9-11 9 Two are better than one, because they have a good return for their labor:10 If either of them falls down, one can help the other up. But pity anyone who falls and has no one to help them up. 11 Also, if two lie down together, they will keep warm.


I’m not sure how many people think about marriage but I have thoughts about it for sure. Not being married they can only be about what I want and believe about it. When I think about marriage there are so many things to consider but partnership comes to mind first. Someone who is there for you, that you can be there for. A partnership in all the ways possible. Not only your movie watching pal but someone to snuggle with when it’s cold, someone to put suntan oil on your back so you don’t burn. Someone to cover you up when it’s chilly. Someone who will make you soup when you’re sick. Go to the movies with, eat your favorite dinner with. Then there is parenting, I tell you I wished many a time while I was raising my daughter that I had someone to co-parent with. Now I have to stop right there and say that for sure my sisters who I lived with helped so much but I mean decisions too, the burden things. The things you wonder if you’re doing the right thing on. For sure there is so much more I could say here – I’m going to save my favorite to last. I’d love a partner to pray with, to stand next to in Church, to worship. To do Bible Studies with. To Serve with. Those are among my best reasons for thinking about marriage. Whoever said it is an institution was right when you think about just how many things it IS. Marriage is a great thing.




So to this soon to be Mr. and Mrs. B., I pray for you to have all things the best in your marriage and I believe you will have them because you have chosen to put God first in your lives. I believe God will bless you in abundance for doing so. Always remember this time in your lives when you are so happy and so in love. Keep that feeling safe and nurture it. Especially when things might get a bit hard, and they will sometime. You be two of the three strands of a rope and let God be the third so your rope is strong and sturdy, able to withstand anything that might come your way.


Ecclesiastes 4:12 12 Though one may be overpowered, two can defend themselves. A cord of three strands is not quickly broken.


Yes this is a blog entry, I’m going to add a personal note to this sweet couple.


Thank you both for including me in your celebration. I am beyond blessed that you asked me to share in your joy and I do share that with you both. I am so excited for you to start this journey together and I’m excited to watch as you live out this adventure filled with love and devotion both to God and each other. Never forget I will be praying for you both.



1 Corinthians 13:13 13 And now these three remain: faith, hope and love. But the greatest of these is love


Dear Heavenly Father, Today I lift up this sweet couple to You, I ask for Your blessings on them, on their marriage, their home and lives. Please surround them with Your loving arms and keep them safe and happy. Please bless this coming wedding to have a wonderful time of love and laughter as they join together. Thank You for the blessing of soul mates as I believe these two are just that. In Jesus name I pray - AMEN

63 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page