top of page

The Shepherd’s Voice


When Jesus walked the earth as a man he looked like other men of the time. He dressed like the other men of that time. One big difference between Jesus and many other men of that time period is what He said and how He said it. When He spoke He always had something important to say. Right now I am doing a Bible Study on the Parables of Jesus and I am finding it very interesting. Things I didn’t realize about the parables and why Jesus said it how, deeper meanings. Sometimes I think people like to complicate things, myself included. We like to add stuff in that just does not go, it’s not needed. Jesus really wasn’t complicated. He had a simple message… Follow me, Love others, all for the Kingdom of God. Why is it so hard sometimes to grasp? I think it may be the unknown, what you don’t know about Jesus. So how do you know Him? The Bible is helpful – read the Gospels – Matthew, Mark, Luke & John. They tell about Jesus life from different perspectives. Each gives a different account of his movements and the things He did and said. Why know Him? Well, my short answer to that is this… I want to know Jesus well because when the time comes for Him to return – this sheep wants to know the Shepherds voice. I want to be able to hear it and know deep in my heart, that’s Jesus!


Why you ask, why would I need to know His voice. Think about it. If He comes again in today’s time I highly doubt He will be wearing a robe and sandals meant for desert type living or walking. He would no doubt be wearing a good set of walking shoes and clothing of today’s time but not super fancy, He won’t want to draw attention by His clothing. He will want to draw attention by what He is saying.


John 10: 1-21 The Good Shepherd and His Sheep “Very truly I tell you Pharisees, anyone who does not enter the sheep pen by the gate, but climbs in by some other way, is a thief and a robber. 2 The one who enters by the gate is the shepherd of the sheep. 3 The gatekeeper opens the gate for him, and the sheep listen to his voice. He calls his own sheep by name and leads them out. 4 When he has brought out all his own, he goes on ahead of them, and his sheep follow him because they know his voice. 5 But they will never follow a stranger; in fact, they will run away from him because they do not recognize a stranger’s voice.” 6 Jesus used this figure of speech, but the Pharisees did not understand what he was telling them. 7 Therefore Jesus said again, “Very truly I tell you, I am the gate for the sheep. 8 All who have come before me are thieves and robbers, but the sheep have not listened to them. 9 I am the gate; whoever enters through me will be saved.[a] They will come in and go out, and find pasture. 10 The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy; I have come that they may have life, and have it to the full. 11 “I am the good shepherd. The good shepherd lays down his life for the sheep. 12 The hired hand is not the shepherd and does not own the sheep. So when he sees the wolf coming, he abandons the sheep and runs away. Then the wolf attacks the flock and scatters it. 13 The man runs away because he is a hired hand and cares nothing for the sheep. 14 “I am the good shepherd; I know my sheep and my sheep know me— 15 just as the Father knows me and I know the Father—and I lay down my life for the sheep. 16 I have other sheep that are not of this sheep pen. I must bring them also. They too will listen to my voice, and there shall be one flock and one shepherd. 17 The reason my Father loves me is that I lay down my life—only to take it up again. 18 No one takes it from me, but I lay it down of my own accord. I have authority to lay it down and authority to take it up again. This command I received from my Father.” 19 The Jews who heard these words were again divided. 20 Many of them said, “He is demon-possessed and raving mad. Why listen to him?” 21 But others said, “These are not the sayings of a man possessed by a demon. Can a demon open the eyes of the blind?”



He will look like every other person I expect, oh I’m not sure of that, I just think its true because Jesus will have a purpose for being here again and He will not want to waste time explaining his garments or anything else but He will be about His business here. I expect there will be a large sense of urgency too so He will be focused on the message and nothing else. So if He looks like a person from today then the only way to know it’s Him is by His voice. By what He says. The frightening part of this is that He could be the person behind you in line at the store and unless you know His voice you’ll never be aware it’s Him.

We can’t be so busy doing life that we forget that we have a purpose on this earth. We can’t be so wrapped up in our own lives that we fail to see something in front of us as important as Jesus.



Honestly, it’s simple – Jesus was not too busy to take on the sins of the world – yours, mine, everyone’s – He gladly took them on and died for them – for us. So I can’t be so busy that I am not focused on knowing Jesus and listening to His voice – The Shepherd’s voice.


Today I want to PRAY


Praise Jesus for taking on our sins, Glorify the name of Jesus

Repent for my sins

Ask for blessings and protection in my day to day life

Yield to Jesus to command my life and my heart


AMEN

5 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page