top of page

The Puzzle Frame

Mom was a gamer, not video but board, puzzles, crosswords, trivia, and anything else we could find to play. She was super competitive and that made it fun to play games with her except Gin, that was a battle because she counted cards and made it super hard to win against her but I loved the challenge of trying. One of her favorite things was a good puzzle. Not online or virtual but spread it out on the table and lets all get around it. The key was to turn all the pieces over and face up then build the frame, once you have the frame then it’s much easier. That frame is the foundation



Makes me think about faith foundation – foundations in our lives. What is your personal foundation? What is your faith foundation? Are you content? Is your puzzle frame assembled making the rest of it easier?


It’s kind of strange or maybe just different when we are in particular stages of our lives it seems like a never ending “uphill battle” just to get through a day or a week. Our new normal as of last year has sent some folks in to a tizzy trying to deal with everything that is involved with this battle and the sad part if it doesn’t look like it will be settled anytime soon. So how do we find contentment in the midst of all of this?


Psalm 92:14 The Message 10-14 But you’ve made me strong as a charging bison, you’ve honored me with a festive parade. The sight of my critics going down is still fresh, the rout of my malicious detractors. My ears are filled with the sounds of promise: “Good people will prosper like palm trees, Grow tall like Lebanon cedars; transplanted to God’s courtyard, They’ll grow tall in the presence of God, lithe and green, virile still in old age.”



Good People will prosper like palm trees, tall, feisty, thriving, content. So again the question, are you content? How do we find that if we don’t feel it? Right now in my life I feel content. Oh that does not mean I don’t have issues in my life, for sure there will always be “stuff’ but as the old saying says “Don’t sweat the small stuff – and PS – it’s ALL small stuff”. Now that isn’t entirely true but lots of times we have tendency to make a mountain out of a molehill.


Where is your worship? Let’s start there, what is leading your heart? Fortune? Fame? Possessions?


Hebrews 13:5 ESV Keep your life free from love of money, and be content with what you have, for he has said, “I will never leave you nor forsake you.”


There are any number of stressors out there but the bottom line is this. You are never alone, you are not the only person who will walk through this. You have the best help there is. God is on your side. In Him who strengthens me. Rest in that, find contentment in that.


Philippians 4:11-13 ESV Not that I am speaking of being in need, for I have learned in whatever situation I am to be content. I know how to be brought low, and I know how to abound. In any and every circumstance, I have learned the secret of facing plenty and hunger, abundance and need. I can do all things through him who strengthens me.


I ask myself, how many more times do I need to see how He is always there for me. As many as it takes. Read this one, you’ve heard a bunch I’m sure and read it again to see contentment right there is the middle of it. The puzzle frame is complete – right there.


Psalm 23:1-6 ESV A Psalm of David. The Lord is my shepherd; I shall not want. He makes me lie down in green pastures. He leads me beside still waters. He restores my soul. He leads me in paths of righteousness for his name’s sake. Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil, for you are with me; your rod and your staff, they comfort me. You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies; you anoint my head with oil; my cup overflows.


Today I breathe in and let a large breath out, sigh and close my eyes. Relief, breathe in and another large breath out. Hmmm yes, I am content. Today I feel peace and I am thankful.

Won't you breathe in and out and join me in being content.



Dear Heavenly Father, Thank You for contentment, thank You for the storms as they show us to lean in to You, trust You, bring you along in the midst of these trials in our lives. Find peace even when it seems like there is none. I pray for those who don’t have the contentment, I pray for peace for them. That they find YOU. In Jesus Name - AMEN


12 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page