top of page

The Great Storm

I don’t believe there is a life that has ever been lived that did not have some form of storm. Storms can take various forms too. Some are an actual rain or snow, hail or wind storm. In West Texas they get dust storms like nothing you’ve ever seen, a huge wall of dust and when it hits that stuff is everywhere – I’d like to be a Swiffer sales person there grin. On the East Coast when I lived there the winters were brutal with snow and having to dig out, chains on your tires and slipping and sliding unless you took precautions. In Texas we don’t get much of that unless it’s kind of a freak incident which is exactly what happened last week. The point I’m making about storms is that there are all kinds and there are all kinds of ways to deal with them.


Exodus 9:23-25 23 When Moses stretched out his staff toward the sky, the Lord sent thunder and hail, and lightning flashed down to the ground. So the Lord rained hail on the land of Egypt; 24 hail fell and lightning flashed back and forth. It was the worst storm in all the land of Egypt since it had become a nation. 25 Throughout Egypt hail struck everything in the fields—both people and animals; it beat down everything growing in the fields and stripped every tree.



This was a physical storm. Much like the one hitting Texas last week. In our area the roads were icy and the side roads were brutal. Not to mention the conditions on streets and in apartment complexes. I have several family and friends who lost power, some lots water, some had pipes burst, some experienced the rolling blackouts which were only supposed to last about 30 minutes off but those minutes turned in to hours and days for some. There were calls to boil water since the plant in Fort Worth froze. The electricity grids were not updated to accommodate the excessive cold we had. So bottom line – the storm came and it came huge. It really was relentless to some. I can’t think of anyone who was not affected in some way. It halted our lives for a time.



To start I was visiting my kids on Sunday and knew the snow was coming, it was already dusting but not heavy coating so I headed home in time before it started getting bad. I worked on Monday, I was able to get out and leave, but Monday night I was not able to get back up the hill to park my car near my building so I parked it down the hill. Running water down the parking lot streets cause severe freezing. Tuesday was so icy that I could not get my car out at all, much less walk on the road which had frozen solid.


<- down this hill to get to car...


Wednesday we were closed so I got a break there. Thursday I was not able to get my car out again, there was also another car behind mine smack in the middle of the road – she got stuck, not moving there and the trek back up the hill was really tough, I slipped and slid several times and almost fell too many times to count. Now Friday I was also not able to get my car out but I desperately needed to get to work so I called my sister to come get me. I would not let her come in the complex so I met her up front and that walk was super tough, standing thick ice, not many places to step without sliding.


By Tuesday, after I came in from my attempted to get out I was really not happy about this situation. I know that I could drive on the big roads if I could just get out. I thought about calling someone but there would be two of us stuck in the same area and I didn’t want that. So my mind is searching for some answers and as the day went on I was told we had broken pipes in my apartment complex and that the boiler had some issues because of the pipes so there went our hot water.


Car behind me ->


I can tell you my blood pressure was starting to rise at this point, I have no idea how long this is going to last and how I am going to work or get there. How will all this work? As fear started to creep up I had to stop what I was doing and get ahold of myself. I had to remember about storms. Sometimes they can serve a purpose. As I always say – It’s NOT time to panic until it’s time to panic. This day was not panic day.

Years ago I heard a Pastor speak about how you weather storms. See this man had a terminal condition that there was no cure for. He could have been angry, he could have given up but instead he decided to weather the storm the best way he could and inspired so many people in the meantime. His name is Greg Rollinger and if you so choose, here is a sermon he did that will surely bless you. you should be able to click on this link and go to YOU tube to watch and listen to Pastor Rollingers message.


Now this is a man who figured out exactly how to get through a storm. Don’t panic, don’t flip out, instead of getting knee deep in the snow, or water or muck, get knee deep in prayer and see where that leads you. Have the right attitude. Find ways to keep positive and upbeat. I found myself praying for my family, for my friends with some real depth and potency and as I did more and more good stories of restoration or help to those who were without kept coming and coming. Myself included. It amazes me how sometimes it takes a hard storm to bring out the good in us. We need to focus on keeping the good on the surface and leave the grumpy, gross and grungy behind where it belongs.


From the time I found faith and began attending church, one particular scripture always finds a way to come forward to me. So much so I have claimed it as my favorite. It’s my life scripture… because it says just how I want to live / lead my life. Each version of the Bible has a beautiful version of this verse. Today though I am giving you the Message version. It’s wonderful.


James 1:2-4 Faith Under Pressure 2-4 Consider it a sheer gift, friends, when tests and challenges come at you from all sides. You know that under pressure, your faith-life is forced into the open and shows its true colors. So don’t try to get out of anything prematurely. Let it do its work so you become mature and well-developed, not deficient in any way.


I still remember the first time I saw this scripture, the NIV first line says “Consider it pure joy when you encounter various trails” I still remember thinking. Oh that’s a misprint. Joy about a trial? As time has passed I certainly understand it more. I think the above explains why you need joy in this time. To help you, to create you. Put the pressure on, like creating metal, they heat the metal to a very high heat, as a liquid the waste product – the unwanted parts, rise to the top so they can be skimmed off. Much like what it says above. Let it do its work so you become mature and well developed. Lacking in nothing.


Sometimes I have to fast from the news because there is only so much negative or unbelievable you can stomach. Oh I’m all for being informed but really? Really? Some things just need to be left private. We don’t need to know every little detail of every little thing. Especially when there isn’t much accountability in the news these days. Oh I think there are plenty of upstanding folks who really care about putting out correct and accurate news and I also believe there are plenty of those who just want the story, who cares if it is right, who cares if it hurts someone just be first and be fast.


Jesus reminds us in Mark 4 just exactly how we need to feel about the storm.


<- the parking lot where my car should be. I walked on this and now you see why slipping was so easy. YIKES.



Mark 4:35-40 35 That day when evening came, he said to his disciples, “Let us go over to the other side.” 36 Leaving the crowd behind, they took him along, just as he was, in the boat. There were also other boats with him. 37 A furious squall came up, and the waves broke over the boat, so that it was nearly swamped. 38 Jesus was in the stern, sleeping on a cushion. The disciples woke him and said to him, “Teacher, don’t you care if we drown?” 39 He got up, rebuked the wind and said to the waves, “Quiet! Be still!” Then the wind died down and it was completely calm. 40 He said to his disciples, “Why are you so afraid? Do you still have no faith?”


Jesus calmed the storm, more to the point He was with them the whole time. Just as He is with us. Oh the storms will come, be sure of that. Be also sure that during those storms Jesus IS with us. Yesterday, today and always.


Dear Heavenly Father, Thank You for being with us during this past weeks Snow-ma-geddin storm event. I am thankful that we made it through and came out on the other side. I pray those who received damage get fixed as soon as possible and the repairs be covered. Thank You for those and all the storms in our lives that we can learn and live through them and come out better on the other side. I want to be mature and lacking nothing, so I’ll take on all the trials meant to help with that, I just would like to ask though can we limit them to only the necessary. Some days it wears me out to battle non-stop. Thank you in advance for your mercy and grace. In Jesus Name - Amen

5 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page